very rachel berry

April 8, 2010 at 9:59 am 3 comments

While it seems yesterday’s cracked outfit may have inadvertently evoked Ugly Betty, today’s ensemble was very intentionally inspired by Glee.

If you’re not watching Glee, I question both your sense of humor and desire to have fun in life. Because this show is bitingly hilarious and ridiculously fun, not to mention completely on the pulse of pop culture with its songs and references.

Kurt: Mercedes is black. I’m gay. We make a culture.
Sue: How do you two not have a show on Bravo?

It’s been on winter hiatus, but it comes back to televisions on Tuesday, April 13.  A few friends and I, however, are attending a sneak preview of the spring premiere tonight! And what better way to gloat celebrate than by rocking a little Rachel Berry?

Which, OK, not that new & exciting or that difficult to do – she embodies plaid-obsessed & preppy schoolgirl chic. She also usually rocks a lot more color than I’m sporting here – which is funny, considering how much I love color myself – but I thought I’d tone it down just a little today.

Ugh, who doesn’t love a kicky plaid skirt? It’s a classic for a reason. I found this wool pleated one by Gap (size 12) at the thrift store for less than $10 – major score! The top is the ol’ Miley Cyrus/Max Azria combo (size L), and, though simple, its sequins add that touch of I’m a star! Notice me! that Rachel projects. Black shrug: White House Black Market.

Studded, black leather flats: Nine West. Beloved. I think the studs give these a similar kind of Notice me! effect.

Black headband with bow: New York & Company. Check my sparkle-sparkle! I love sequins, and I cannot lie. Additionally, I love the dainty little buttons, which are also rather Rachel. She’s very girly and feminine, though I definitely can’t wear skirts as short as she does – but hey, she’s got the legs! Work it, girl. Drop earrings also from NY&Co.

This looks like a single ring on my thumb, but it’s actually 3 rings that I received as a cool little mix-n-match set from my cousin Heather for Christmas – aren’t they cute? Speaking of cute, check the button detail on the skirt.

What do you think – would Rachel approve? Do you think I could find my own Frankenteen in this outfit? *fingers crossed!*

Entry filed under: As Seen on TV, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

lite rock @ the office frisky friday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  April 9, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Very Rachel. You might need to watch out for slushies.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 9, 2010 at 8:53 am

      Yeah, but Finn AND Puck? Fair trade.

      Reply
  • […] 7. best & worst of the Emmys 2010 – 507 hits 6. playing penny lane – 560 hits 5. very rachel berry – 565 hits 4. Ladies of LOST: Kate – 923 hits 3. $30 dye job – 1,003 hits 2. gap […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

