orange zest

April 2, 2010 at 10:28 am 2 comments

I’m heading home for Easter weekend later today & feeling fine – but no pastels for me! No sir, this bright shade just makes me feel sunny & happy:

Orange cap-sleeve dress: Democracy (size 8) from TJ Maxx (love the collar & the pleating up top and repeated in the skirt), blue boho-paisley scarf as belt… no idea. I believe it came with something, but I cannot for the life of me remember what. I usually use it as a headscarf (à la this), but I wanted a belt of some sort here to both break up the solid mass of orange and weigh down the skirt a bit more, as it’s another that tends to pouf out a bit for some odd reason.


Teal flats: Urban Outfitters.

And accessories:

Yep, these earrings (Presence) and necklace (TJ Maxx) again – they pop so well with the orange, I had no choice! I actually bought this necklace specifically for this dress. I had it in my head that orange and teal would just look beautiful together (orange and blue are complementary colors after all), and I think I was right. In my hair is a brown leather flower headband from Target. This was cute & comfy too – headband headaches are the WORST, and I refuse to buy hurtful headbands anymore. You should also make this pledge. For your sanity.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

10k easter sunny

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Absolutely LOVE this look! The dress is just too perfect for spring. Wish it would warm up here so I could finally ditch the sweaters.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:59 am

      Thanks much! I almost didn’t get it because, first of all, it had a faulty zipper, so I couldn’t actually tell if it fit me right and/or if, secondly, the poufing out was a result of not being able to zip all the way – and if it wasn’t, was it a dealbreaker?

      The answer was obviously no. :) Didn’t cost much to fix the zipper either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

