picnic pretty

April 1, 2010 at 11:52 am 6 comments

I’ve got a forecast of 74 & sunny and, with that, picnic plans with friends downtown at Millennium Park after work – already counting down the hours, let me tell you! Our menu is “vaguely fancy European.” Jealous?

All that considered, I mixed brights & neutrals with fun details for today:

Oops! Fanhead! And I cut off the shoes. Don’t worry, they’re below, as usual. Scallop-edged brown skirt with gold emboirdery & beading: Ann Taylor Loft (size 12), turquoise cardigan: Mossimo (size S).

I got this fitted tank top by Burning Torch (size M) from a consignment shop over on Southport called Leahey & Ladue – it looked very small, but the prints and colors were so pretty that I had to try it on. Glad I did.

It’s pretty much an ideal cut for me, and, even cooler, it’s 100% recycled, according to the tag. Whoever mixed and matched all these swatches and fabric panels did a great job because the effect is summery-stunning: there are florals, tribal patterns, and even fish on the straps. That’s right, FISH! I never thought I’d voluntarily wear such a thing, but somehow here it works.

Even though it’s snug, the back of the tank features a large, stretchy panel that really helps with fit:

Speaking of fit, these straps are a bit odd in that they are curved in the front – it’s actually quite a lovely & flattering look, but that means you can’t wear a regular bra with it. And I had to share that I recently got the greatest strapless bra (which will NOT work for every bust) for just $10.

Gents who may be reading, feel free to scroll to the next pic, as these next paragraphs are all about lady-things & the frustrations they cause.

Support is a huge issue with strapless bras for most women (obviously), and that usually means underwire. I hate underwire and don’t really need it, but it’s very difficult to find a strapless bra without it. Beyond that, it’s difficult to find one with no underwire that still gives shape instead of completely flattening your bust like a super-elastic traditional bandeau.

After I had the ultimate horrific bra experience with an underwire strapless from Target (the wires scratched into my skin after wearing it all day; I had red scrapes!), I said “Hell to the no!” and was on the hunt for an underwire-free strapless. I even begrudgingly asked the saleswoman at Victoria’s Secret, and she told me such a thing did not exist – in a tone that implied I was oh-so-stupid and lacked fundamental knowledge about the logic of how physics and lady-bits relate. Woman, please.

Well thankfully, unlike Bono, I finally found what I was looking for in the form of the Xhilaration juniors bandeau strapless bra. SWEET VICTORY! Molded cups, no underwire, removable straps, and cost just 10 bones. I am so happy. They had it in many sizes; I’m just not sure how effectively it would work on larger busts. But let me know if you give it a try!

Moving on!

I definitely bought these Mossimo sandals (and another pair) at Target a few weeks back when it was still quite cold:

As my friend Sarah and I were recently discussing during our Woodfield outing, I love a d’Orsay shoe and thus could not resist these Mossimo Wakeisha d’Orsay flats in pewter. How cute is the braiding? Braiding seems a hot trend this season. These are technically actually a size too small (an 8 when I wear a 9), but there were very few left, and this was the closest to my size. They feel fine so far and will also stretch, so I’m not too worried. (PS: that’s also OPI Miami Beet on the toes.)

Details:

Here you can see more of the cool detailing of the top, including the curved straps (which have flower-like beading on each – see thumbnail) and cute tie at the bust. My go-to necklace lately is the turquoise pendant from TJ Maxx, while these gold flower earrings were a birthday gift last year from my friend Jamie – our picnic chef! – who got them from Francesca’s Collections in Evanston. Too fun!

I already slathered on the SPF 70 this morning – 5:00 and pic-a-nic time cannot come soon enough!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Sales, Recs & Likes, Trends, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

favorite old tee 10k

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  April 1, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Those sandals are SPECTACULAR!!!! I’m in lust!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      Thanks! Check your local store(s) – they’re sold out online!

      Reply
      • 3. Suzanne  |  July 9, 2010 at 9:02 pm

        Here we are over 3 months later and Target finally has those sandals again…and you better believe I ordered them before they sold out again!

  • 4. Amy M.  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    You post pictures of everything you mentioned, so I completely expected and looked for a picture of you wearing the bra. Haha! Only after I looked and didn’t find one did I realize that it would probably be inappropriate to post photos of yourself in underwear on the internet….

    I’m glad you found something that works for you! I very much wish I could wear underwireless bras, that sounds wonderfully comfy, but alas, that is not to be.

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      HA, yeaaah, no, not posting pics in my underthings!

      You could try this bra, it goes up to 36C, I believe.

      Reply
      • 6. Amy M.  |  April 2, 2010 at 8:18 am

        I think your decision not to post photos of the underthings shows good judgment on your part!

        And Thanks, I may just try that one out!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

