favorite old tee

March 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm 6 comments

In the words of Bono, today was a BEAUTIFUL DAY!

Sunny & 70s – finally!

It’s like we skipped spring and went straight to summer. Doesn’t the view from Chicago Ave. look lovely? (Sorry for the quality of these pics today – didn’t have my camera, just my cell.)

After work, heeding Bono’s advice to not let it get away, I decided that maybe I should go for a run.

Wait, I what?

See, generally I share Elijah Wood’s point of view in that epic cinematic masterpiece The Faculty:

“I don’t believe a person should run unless he’s being chased.”

But it was simply too nice out, so I took a short 25-min jog near the lake – in my favorite old tee:

I stole this tee from my grandpa (no, really – I went and took it from his drawer without him knowing), and I absolutely love it for many reasons. First of all, it’s been worn super thin and feels as soft as a pug’s ear. Secondly is the humor that I would ever be able to run a 10k. And lastly, dated 1982, this vintage tee is older than me! By not even a year, but still! Also, feel free to ignore the post-run “glow” here, eh?

I later told my Gpa that I took it, and I think he was more bemused than anything, like, “Why would you want that old thing?!” But he also gets a kick out of it when I wear it. As do I – win-win!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , .

sunny sweater dress picnic pretty

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue Graf  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Cara I absolutely love this! Love how it looks on you, love that it was Grandpa’s, and that it’s older than you! Some things are better when there older ya know?!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Thanks, Sue! You are totally right – I feel the same way!

      Reply
  • 3. Amy M.  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I was beginning to think you never wore t-shirts…

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Psssh! Excuse you, there is a “tees” tag, is there not? ;)

      Reply
  • 5. amelia  |  April 1, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    SOFT AS A PUG’S EAR!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  April 1, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      I knew you would like that!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

