sunny sweater dress

March 30, 2010 at 11:42 am 2 comments

I’m so sick of repeating looks or nearly repeating outfits. We need the serious shift to SPRING already so I can get creative!

That said, sorry – you’ve seen this (similar if not exact) look before (and I even belted yesterday!):

Contrary to sunny appearances, it got really cold again this week (I was freezing all day in my office yesterday, and walking in the wind outside was even worse), so today I went double sweaters in cardigan and sweater dress – though they tell us 70s by Friday! Oh Midwest, you are so charmingly bipolar!

Sagey-chartreuse green cardigan: New York & Company (size S) – upon seeing pics, not sure this color goes so well, maybe should’ve gone with the purple cardi; brown striped sweater dress with metallic gold threads: H&M (size S – which is insane for both sweater dresses and H&M items); jeans: Mossimo.

I can’t stop belting. I think I have a problem…

I really do love this belt, though (from Talbots), and I can’t believe I got it for less than $5 at the thrift store!

Sure, the leather could be slightly better quality, but it’s still real leather and also the perfect length – look at that tiny tail! My friend Elizabeth was recently lamenting excess belt tails – oh, the trials of the tiny-waisted! But it is truly annoying when they are all floppy and not easily tucked. Her suggestion was to put a clear hair band around the belt and use it as a loop to hold the tail in place. Pretty clever, no?

Fave brown leather boots: Steve Madden.

I get a lot of random compliments on these. It’s tough to find flat, cute boots sometimes, and these have straps, buckles, and hardware that make them stand out. I originally went in wanting another pair, but they only had these in my size. So glad I purchased.

Really wanted to wear a long pendant necklace with the sweater dress, as I usually do, but it competed too much with the belt, so I went standard:

Illinois state quarter necklace: Jack Landstra; faux turquoise earrings: Presence.

Back to the beginning of this post, and along with what I said yesterday, I sometimes debate even posting simple or similar looks here – but to my credit, I’ve never exactly duplicated an outfit thus far, so at least it’s a study in mixing, matching, reworking, and switching up pieces and looks, right?

I’m still new at this & open to suggestions – just hope I’m not boring you!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

all in the details favorite old tee

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  March 30, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I’m never bored. :) I like seeing how you mix and match things, and it also helps me expand my horizons to mix things up a bit myself!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 30, 2010 at 3:29 pm

      Oh good! Glad to hear all of that. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,873 hits since 12/29/2009

