from brunch to birthday party

March 29, 2010 at 1:00 am 2 comments

Bit of a jam-packed weekend pour moi – so much so that, after shopping with my friend Sarah at Woodfield all day, I felt very unwell and crashed at 6:30 pm on a Sunday night. Well, it is now 1am and, wouldn’t you know, I’m awake. So a-blogging I will go!

Saturday was full of fun & friends. Meeting my friends John & Taurean for mimosas and brunch at Orange with a Peel, I went casual-cute in this:

I’ve already featured this top a few times, but I just love it. From Ann Taylor Loft, it’s colorful and comfy-soft, not to mention accented with rhinestones and ribbon around the neckline. Jeans: American Eagle, jacket: Mossimo. I ended up having the same issue with this jacket as the other day, however, so I had to ditch it.

Still cute, but not as interesting.

Beloved grey boots: Fly London.

As you can see at the toe, they’re definitely starting to wear; but this leather is thicker and much more durable, so I don’t think the wear looks too bad – in fact, it almost seems to go with the generally edgy look to them, alongside the piping and studs and wooden-layered wedge. One of the other pleasantly unusual aspects of these boots is the centered back zipper and sort of V-cut it has. Most zippered boots feature a side-zip, but that would disrupt the flow of the piping these have; and I actually think the back zip & V-cut helps with fit and tucking jeans a lot – it somehow allows for more room and/or give.

I popped the purple of the top with turquoise jewelry:

The earrings (from Target) are simple plastic, but they have a faux carved floral pattern (click for larger) that adds depth and interest. I got them years ago, but I really love them. Necklace: TJ Maxx – been wearing this a lot lately, but I think it’s proven versatile.

Later that night, my friend Jamie was having her birthday gathering at The Grafton. A cozy Irish pub, the place is simple but very good, and I went simple & easy in my outfit (which, contrary to my misleading title, is not at all a day-to-night twist on the first look – haha, sorry):

Jeans: Calvin Klein. This red & purple tunic by Tulle (size M) was another find from Crossroads Trading Co. (just $15!), and I can’t tell you how pleased I was that it fit. The print and cut are very retro to me – I could see Joan Holloway wearing something like this easily – and I knew the little attached belt in the front would be super flattering. It’s also unlike anything I own and just really fun.

Speaking of that belt:

It doesn’t seem to like to stay straight, but that’s ok.

Faux croc, red wedges: Steve Madden. I was obsessed with these, finally got them as a Christmas gift, and still love them to this day. Steve Madden honestly makes my favorite wedges because they are the perfect height (I think 2.5 inches) and terribly comfortable. The rounded toe here also adds to the retro look of the top.

Didn’t change the jewelry – just the hair:

Notice how this jewelry matches exactly nothing I wore in either outfit, yet I think it absolutely works in both cases. I know I’m all about mixing weird color combos, but for those of you who might like to try it in a less intimidating manner, jewelry is a good place to start. So add a pop of color! It’s fun! And so often it enhances your look, if you ask me.

Hey! Let’s say hello to some fellow party people!

How cute is Jordan‘s new hat? Doesn’t he look French? Get in a bathtub in a slicker right now, Monsieur!

Team Shaken Candy represent! You would think the girl would be the cutest. Not so with these guys. Not so!

And the birthday girl – Happy Birthday, Jamie!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

simple sweater dress all in the details

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  March 29, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Dude – LOVE the red and purple tunic. Very cute.

    Also, jealous of your steve madden fun. For some reason the steve madden store near me in the mall only carries sizes seven and up, and I have freakishly small feet. Blarg.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 29, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Thanks! And…

      SteveMadden.com
      Endless.com
      Zappos.com

      Online shopping is your friend! Most of those have free shipping either always or if you spend X dollars – both ways. With free return shipping, you’ve got nothin’ to lose! Also you can even order online and return in store most of the time. I know I’ve done it with SM before.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

