all in the details

March 29, 2010 at 10:10 am Leave a comment

I feel like a lot of my simple looks lately really aren’t even worth posting, but simplicity has its place too. Plus, there are still usually enough fun, unique details to make the looks interesting.

As mentioned in my previous (twofer!) post, I went to Woodfield Mall yesterday to help my friend Sarah find an Easter outfit (she ended up with a fun & oh-so-flattering Maggy London dress and shrug from Nordstrom), and I got out having spent just $20 on 2 belts and a pair of mustard tights ($6.99 in store vs. $1.99 online – but the shipping online makes it about even). Today I paired one of the belts with this:

Oatmeal sequin-trimmed cardigan: Express, jeans: American Eagle, ruffled mustard top: Ann Taylor Loft.

These skinny belts were only $9.99 (about 50% off their original price) at the Gap and came in 10 or so colors (not as cheap online, unfortunately). I thought about one of the metallics but opted for this purple one instead. I think it’ll provide good contrast in spring & summer looks.

Boots (sorry, Mandy):

I wore heels too much this weekend, so I had to go full comfort in my flat, purple leather boots from Switzerland.

Details:

Sequins, a ruffle, contrasting colors and textures in the top and cardigan paired with the rough leather of the bright belt – I think it all provides enough visual interest to make it noteworthy, as I said. Earrings: American Eagle, Illinois state quarter necklace, Jack Landstra.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

from brunch to birthday party sunny sweater dress

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

