opi miami beet

March 25, 2010 at 6:07 pm 7 comments

This is one of my favorite go-to nail colors in the red-pink realm: OPI’s Miami Beet, from the South Beach Collection. It’s just so bright & juicy! OPI is definitely not as good as the Sally Hansen Complete Manicure line, if you ask me, but I did this 5 days ago (with Revlon’s Quick Dry Base Coat and Extra Life No Chip Top Coat), and it’s clearly chip-free so far.

(Also: owl ring from Aldo Accessories, green ring from Kohl’s – and the earrings and necklace were featured earlier today.)

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

leafy green simple sweater dress

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  March 25, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Love that color! I just bought Pink Flamenco and Berries in the Canaries, great spring and summer colors. We’ll have to get a mani when you come home for Easter.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 25, 2010 at 6:36 pm

      Yeah! Sounds good! Hey, do you have your Miami Beet, or did I accidentally take it? I think I have two… double check, I’ll try to remember to bring it if you don’t have yours.

      Reply
      • 3. Mom  |  March 30, 2010 at 10:46 am

        I had to buy another bottle because I could find mine…now the truth comes out!

  • 4. Kat  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I really love that owl ring.

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  March 26, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Thanks, I do too. Trying not to overwear it, but it’s difficult.

      Reply
  • 6. amelia  |  March 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

    love you doing your own mani. i tried on sunday and i just cannot do it. maybe if i had the products you did it would be better… or maybe it’s just my sloppiness! thus i’m slave to the mani parlor and at 16 bucks a pop with tip included i just can’t do it too often!

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  March 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      $16?! Dang, girl! Yeah, I rarely get a mani. Pretty much always do them myself. What helped me do better was to do my “opposite” hand first – as in, I’m right handed, so I PAINT my right hand first. It kind of “tricks” your left hand, I think. It seems to me that if I start painting my left hand with my right hand, switching to use my left hand seems SUPER hard and weird and unfamiliar. Try this method if you haven’t before! It helped me a lot. :)

      (And yeah, any brand will do, but a base and top coat make SUCH a difference, I never go without them now – except for the Sally Hansen Complete Manicure collection, since it doesn’t need a base. Still give it a top coat, though.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,873 hits since 12/29/2009

