leafy green

March 25, 2010 at 11:14 am 3 comments

This is kind of a fun, layered look:

Textured, metallic-sheen, cropped jacket: Mossimo; black leggings: hmm… TJ Maxx maybe; black leather boots: Bandolino; green V-neck boyfriend tee (oh, the irony!): also Mossimo (size S – I love these; so soft & comfy), over Merona smocked waist dress (featured previously here). Nope, that’s not a skirt – as you can see the pattern peeping out of the V-neck – but I think this is an easy way to increase your wardrobe choices.

A few years back, I didn’t have that many dresses. I think in my mind, I viewed them specifically as “Occasion” pieces, something to wear to a fancy or important event. And I think a lot of women still see them this way. But sometime in the past four years, my mindset changed. I had some kind of mini fashion epiphany: You don’t have to have an “Occasion” to wear them at all! – and I started buying dresses for everyday wear. I’m really glad I did because I think they are actually quite versatile. It’s easy to limit yourself with dresses, but, as I think this idea shows, you can wear them a lot of different ways.

Throw a t-shirt over your dress! Try a fun jacket or bright cardigan! Wear boots instead of heels! While dresses still do essentially “dress up” your look (hello, it’s right there in the phrase), you can just as easily dress down a dress. This look doesn’t seem “fancy” at all, just well put together – a print, a bold color, a textured neutral – where as my previous effort was simpler and dressier.

Anyway, not trying to state the obvious or anything! But I think it’s easy to take dresses for granted and pigeonhole them as solely “Occasion” pieces – just trying to show that you can expand your wardrobe if you switch it up a bit. And who doesn’t want to expand their wardrobe?

I did have a bit of a problem with this jacket, though:

I couldn’t get the sleeves to stop poking through, and thus I couldn’t get over how absurd it looked.

Ditching the jacket makes for a far less interesting look, I think:

It’s just ok.

Jewelry:

In addition to layering the clothes, I played that up by also layering necklaces – first my Jack Landstra Illinois state quarter necklace, then my H&M leaf pendant. That kind of echoing was intentional. I then unintentionally continued the leaf theme by grabbing my new $4 leafy dangle earrings from Target.

It’s like Earth Day come early, y’all.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

champs-élysées chic opi miami beet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  March 25, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I think you should try that jacket with your new dress from the previous post – and bonus, no sleeves issue!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 25, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      Ooh, good idea! I was in a hurry yesterday so I just grabbed. This would prob go great! :)

      Reply
  • 3. layers, continued « here's looking at shoes, kid  |  October 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    […] layering this Merona dress to act as a skirt worked well the first time (what is that hair? oh right, the result of being impulsive), I tried it again. Honestly, I think I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

