argyle & uggs

March 23, 2010 at 10:23 pm 4 comments

There is nothing whatsoever remarkable about this look:

Simple argyle cardigan and jeans.

They are cute, naturally, and I love the color combo – pink and brown is a favorite, as is teal and brown, and this has both! AND I love argyle. So classic. (Fun fact: I used to live on Argyle!) Both the tee (size S) and cardigan (size M) are Merona from Target. The top has a great scoop neck and some cute detail.

But really I just wanted to finally talk about my UGGs!

Ah, yes, the ever-controversial, eternally-trendy, often-ridiculed UGG Australia boots! Where do I even begin?

Let me just say right off the bat that I’m not going to try to sway anyone’s opinion on Uggs. You either like them or you don’t. I’m simply going to tell you what I like about them and offer a few helpful tips.

Let’s call this Cara’s Guide to UGGs:

Here’s the first thing: contrary to popular belief, Uggs are not snow boots. They are not for slush and wetness. They are also not for starlets in California who wear them with their cutoffs when it drops to 50 degrees. Please. They are cold-weather boots! And they do really keep you warm with their sheepskin lining, which can be rolled over (though I don’t think I’ve ever worn them that way).

But this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t weather-proof them. Absolutely weather-proof them at least once a season, if not more. If your luck is as good as mine, you will try as you might to wear them only when it’s cold and not wet; but chances are it will rain or flurry on you at some point, much to your dismay.

The other defense many make of UGGs is that They are soooo comfortable! This is actually true. Obviously there is no support in them, but there’s no support in flip-flops either – and that stops no one. Related to comfort is fit – they do run large, so size down. Note: this is only true of the classic tall style – the zip-up UGGs are true to size. I actually first purchased these classic tall boots, my second pair of Uggs (the first were zip-ups) in black in a size 9 and had to return them for a size 8 – but I ended up finding brown, which I’d wanted more anyway.

As far as personal preferences go… if I’m going to spend the money on Uggs, I want them to be really cute. There are Fuggs (fake Uggs!) available everywhere, so I wouldn’t spend the money on plain Uggs. Just get the fakes (though, mind you, the difference between sheepskin lining and non-sheepskin lining is glaring). And part of why I love mine so much is the awesome, shiny-iridescent ‘baroque’ paisley print. As with most pieces I gravitate toward, it’s a fun-funky twist on a classic concept – something just different enough to make you take a second look. (In that same vein, my first pair had an adorable embroidered flowery pattern on one side, similar to these.)

Also, completely shallowly, I love the metal logo plate on the heel. It’s just cooler and sleeker than the usual fabric-stitched logo.

And that is why I love my Uggs. So go ahead and hate on, haters!

Entry filed under: Cara's Guide to..., Trends, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

lady in red champs-élysées chic

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I had no idea there was so much to know about UGGs, haha. Now I know! and like my good friends in GI Joe say, Knowledge is half the battle!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:34 am

      Ha, right? Hey, you teach me about video games – I teach you about shoes. It all works out!

      Reply
  • 3. Nicole  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:25 am

    My hatred of Uggs doesn’t come from well put-together outfits like this one–it’s from the girls that throw on a pair of black leggings, uggs, and a white t-shirt, and consider that acceptable wear for a day. Bleeeeh

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:35 am

      Normally one might say, “Don’t hate the player- hate the game!”

      But in the case of those girls wearing Uggs, I’d say, “Don’t hate the game – hate the players!” Haha. ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

