lady in red

March 22, 2010 at 11:05 am 4 comments

Well, wouldn’t you know, it’s another cotton dress!

I know, I know: How many cotton, empire-waist dresses does this girl own? But see, the thing is, when something works for you and is figure-flattering, in addition to being comfortable (and super affordable), I don’t think it’s terrible to own a bunch of different twists on the concept, do you?

This particular red cotton dress with slight cowl neck is by No Boundaries (size M) and was crazy-cheap, probably less than $10; purple tights are by Simply Vera. None of it matches, so I’ve definitely got a bit of color blocking going on, in basic theory if not strict concept (which traditionally features multicolored panels or patterns of contrasting colors on the same article of clothing), and naturally I love it. I feel these are all rich enough colors that they still work. Then again, I like standing out. For those of you who may be apprehensive about it, spring and summer would be great times to try it, given how many soft, bright colors (unlike these deeper jewel tones) are both easy to find and easy to wear during those seasons.

Got these mustard, faux suede Steve Madden flats at Crossroads Trading Co. yesterday:

They are not in tip-top, like-new condition, clearly – and they are a bit snug, yowch, already feelin’ it! need some stretching or heel cushions – but at only $13.50, they were too fun to pass up. Plus, I love mustard AND sparkly baubles! Win-win!

PS: Check that Hononegah pride – ha!

Wooden cutout earrings from New York & Company, leaf pendant from H&M. Also of note: I lightened my hair a bit, using L’Oréal Couleur Experte in 8.2 Iced Meringue. The highlights didn’t really work on the bangs very well… which was kind of the point, but oh well! Maybe it will all even out after a few washings.

I’m super pumped for trivia tonight – last semester my team placed 5th! Can we do better this time around? *fingers crossed!*

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Trends, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

orange you glad it’s the weekend? argyle & uggs

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amelia  |  March 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    oh i LOVE these colors together! great look!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 22, 2010 at 3:14 pm

      merci! xoxo

      Reply
  • 3. SWF_Terra  |  March 22, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I love this. The shoes are wonderful. The dress looks magenta on my computer, which I love. But I also love the idea of red!

    And no, there is nothing wrong with having a bunch of something that works well and makes you feel great. Besides, you look amazing so big middle fingers to anyone who doesn’t agree. ;)

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 23, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      Another friend said it looked magenta, too – it’s more a “soft” red, I guess. And thanks! But oh man, I had to change into sneakers at work… I hate to admit. But it was for the best. I was afraid the heels were going to snag my tights!

      “Big middle fingers” – I’m so using that!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

