orange you glad it’s the weekend?

March 21, 2010 at 8:31 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been wearing a lot of orange lately, eh?

Once again, this is a look that started out as one thing and morphed into something completely different. And I rather love it. It’s bright and fun and flirty with the colors and print. I wore it up to Evanston today to visit my friend Katy, who treated me to a delicious mocha. Mmm! The only thing better than seeing a friend’s smiling face is catching up over a cuppa joe:

I <3 Katy!

This cotton V-neck top from New York & Company (size S) actually has really cute beaded flowers all over it – mostly covered here by the scarf (which was a gift from my cousin Sarah – love it!), but you can see a little of it on the shoulder (at left). The Merona skirt is something I probably never would have picked up had it not been on the clearance rack at Target. It’s a size 12P (and I am in no way petite by any definition of the word), but I think it was something like $7, so I got it. Besides, the P part of the size likely only applied to the length, not the size at all; in that respect, it fits pretty perfectly. Plus, it’s just plain fun! Brown leggings by No Boundaries.

Brown leather boots by Steve Madden:

Definitely need to repolish & rebuff these babies!

Sorry about the mop-top, guys – still trying to figure out this hair! As you may have noticed, I dig popping a contrasting color when it comes to jewelry and accessories. I think I’ve been abusing these go-to pieces lately. Sorry! But they go so nicely, do they not? In any case, earrings from Presence in Andersonville, necklace from TJ Maxx.

And to top it off:

Another contrasting color! Coat by Tulle (in size L) from Nordstrom – incidentally, inspired by Katy’s orange version of this coat! Should have known back then that we were destined to be pals. :)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

cat in a hat lady in red

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

