cat in a hat

March 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm 4 comments

Yesterday was 60 & sunny; today was 30 & sleeting. Welcome to the Midwest.

Threw this together pre-Target run. Chartreuse cardigan by Susina (size M) from Nordstrom Rack, jeans: American Eagle, hat: Urban Outfitters.

Black sequin top (that I really love actually)… yep, Miley Cyrus & Max Azria again. Which means, yes, it’s from Walmart.

I don’t even care, it’s totally cute! You can’t be discriminating or snobby about stores when it comes to style. That’s maybe my #1 rule. You can find cute stuff anywhere, so long as you’re not above looking. Simply look! – you never know what you’ll find. (Sorry about the angle here, not sure what’s up with the lighting/contrast – I’m pale, but I don’t actually glow.)

Boots by Dollhouse from Burlington Coat Factory.

Necklace: Express, grey-to-black gradient earrings: Burlington Coat Factory.

Sorry for the lack of any witty commentary this time – it’s been a bit of a day. Better luck next time, eh?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

tropicara orange you glad it’s the weekend?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Lady, I totally agree with your fashion-can-come-from-any-store mentality. I am always totally impressed/pleased/surprised when I read that your looks are from places like target and walmart and burlington, because you look like you’ve spent a lot more! Well done on the ‘get the look for less’ front.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Wellll, it’s give and take. I spend $100 on a jacket and yet can get $5 tops. Or do I get a $100 jacket BECAUSE I only spend $5 on tops?

      Part of me thinks it would be great to keep up some allure and mystique about things – let everyone think stuff is more fancy than it actually is – but I think part of this blog is supposed to be educational and a resource. I’m glad you and I are of the same mind on learning that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to get a lot of look! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Ben  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    Whoa, is there a Nordstrom Rack in Chicago? Because if so that’s totally on the agenda.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:30 pm

      State Street! It’s definitely hit or miss, though I can’t say I’ve ever really checked out the men’s stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

