holy what – no tights?!

March 18, 2010 at 10:59 am Leave a comment

Someone once described my style as “sophisticated boho” – I took it as a compliment – and this is the kind of look that might explain why:

Wha—no tights?! That’s right, I CAN wear a dress without tights! Just had to wait for it to warm up first, ok?

This lightweight dress by Mossimo (in size M) from Target is one of my warm-weather faves. It is rather bohemian, what with brown being an earth tone and it having flowers and fleurs-de-lis embroidered in contrasting black stitching. (Aha! Brown + black again! It can be done! I will probably never stop repeating this.) I also think the square neckline and semi-flutter sleeves are quite flattering.

Here’s a close-up of some of that stitching and the belt:

Without a belt, this thing absolutely just hangs like a night-shirt, so it definitely needs cinching. I actually usually use the scarf I have in my hair as the belt for this dress (it came as a belt for some skirt, I believe), but I really wanted to wear it in my hair today (see thumbnail), so I opted for this woven leather belt (from Talbots – thrifted) instead. I gotta say, thrifting is the way to go for belts. They are so stupid expensive for how little you’re actually getting, especially woven leather belts like this (a quick glance at Fossil.com shows them ranging from $28 to $38). I think I paid less than $5 for this at Unique Thrift on Sheridan. Can’t beat that! (PS: Mondays are half-price day on everything – woo!)

Careful, viewers – do not let the white blind you!

While I did forgo the tights, I couldn’t say goodbye to the boots. Oh dear, these are looking so beaten up now – my beloved purple leather boots from a random shop while vacationing in Switzerland. And they could already use another, more even coat of color spray (which is difficult to do in a high-rise apartment, let me tell you). It’s not my fault it always happened to rain every time I wore them! I will keep wearing them, too. How do you replace purple leather boots from la  Suisse?!

Earrings: American Eagle, faux turquoise necklace: Presence in Andersonville, mischievous expression: all me.

Update!

I went out & about with my friends William & Jordan later, and William snapped this shot. Whatever made me make this face? Ridiculous!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

spring forward tropicara

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,358 hits since 12/29/2009

