spring forward

March 16, 2010 at 10:50 am 2 comments

I tried on at least 3 different variations of this outfit this morning, and I’m still not sure I’m happy with the final look:

But it’s – finally! – getting too lovely for sweaters and boots, so a ruffly skirt & a springy print, not to mention a festive headband, are just what the (style) doctor ordered to welcome in an extra hour of daylight.

Hair fluff!

Metallic purple screen-printing on salmon (or is that creamsicle? sherbet? peach? apricot? some other fruit?!) tee: Old Navy, grey ruffled skirt with metallic threads: H&M, grey tights: Express. I like the contrast of the bright, almost-pastel top (can something be both bright and pastel? not sure, but let’s go with it) and the grey lower half. Not only does the purple, metallic print give the soft color of the tee much-needed punch, but then the cool grey also balances the top nicely. Much like my beloved combo of yellow and grey, I think these colors are an equally sophisticated pairing that you wouldn’t automatically think work but still complement each other well.

Studded tan leather flats: Nine West. They have a tiny heel on them actually, but they’re still essentially flats. I love these so much that I got them in two colors (the other being black), and just a simple heel cushion liner makes them absolute perfection as far as comfort is concerned. Not like yesterday… oh MAN! Definitely taking those to the cobbler tonight. (Only $8 for stretching!)

Bejeweled flower headband: Ann Taylor Loft, faux green stone earrings: Target, rhinestone & chain link necklace: Express.

Here’s a better look at the tee’s print – foliage and hummingbirds and starbursts, oh my! Also I’m still not sold on these bangs. I’m really not. But hey, at least it’s something different! Which is what my hair boredom required. They’ll grow out in no time, and then… who knows?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

gold & green holy what – no tights?!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I love your hair! It’s too cute. I am also a fan of the hairband. I am usually too scared to do fun things with my hair — I’ve always been a “hair down” kind of girl, but I might jazz it up soon. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      Oh thanks! idk, I think I may just call it an ill-conceived experiment… I don’t feel as sassy or adult with them. They definitely are little kid-like. But that is also part of why they’re fun. We’ll see! I might try to side swoop them and see if they even will.

      Headbands are fun! You should try a “statement piece” like this one. You forget you even have it on after while.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

