gold & green

March 15, 2010 at 1:16 pm 6 comments

Since I think I cut some of the blonde out of my hair last night – or styled the highlights away – I figured I’d better add some golden shine elsewhere. Ok, not really – this is just happenstance. I’m not sure, however, that this is the most flattering look I’ve ever sported.

Black shrug (my new favorite thing, if you couldn’t tell): White House Black Market, high-waisted jeans: Calvin Klein, bejeweled gold silk top: Express – back when Express still had a lot of fancy-yet-versatile looks like this. Now they seem to have nothing but American Apparel-wannabe stretchy cotton pieces. What happened to the shine? What happened to the fun? I definitely liked their sweaters and cardigans this past fall, but even then and especially now I am disappointed in their (lack of) selection of blouses and dresses.

I noted that this may not be the most flattering look on me, and that’s because of the empire waist. On the one hand, it emphasizes my smallest part; but on the other, I do get that potentially-maternity vibe that instills fear in so many when it comes to an empire waist. Hmmm, what do you think? (Feedback so far seems to be that I am delusional and that it is actually quite flattering. Maybe my coffee had yet to kick in when I wrote this earlier!)

Still, I do love the baubles around the neckline and wasitline:

I’m less sure about my hair still… oh, and the necklace is from TJ Maxx.

And here’s the bargain I scored on Sunday (as mentioned here):

Turquoise green faux snakeskin heels from Nine West – just $16 on clearance! Can you believe it? I love these. I’d been looking for some blue or green heels for a while – I just thought they’d be so fun and add serious punch to a look – and these absolutely fit the bill. Plus the faux snakeskin adds all-important texture. The only hitch: I usually wear a 9, and these are an 8. I tried them on with tights on, and they felt fine; now, however, my bare feet are definitely feelin’ it, not gonna lie. I may have to see if I can take them to a cobbler and get them stretched. I can’t imagine it would cost very much, and they’d only need minimal stretching.

Have you been to a cobbler before? I have. You should look into it. Good people, cobblers. Plus, they cobble, which is infinitely cool, no?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

new bangs spring forward

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Valarie  |  March 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I’m digging the bangs! I was unsure with the previous post, didn’t hate them but wasn’t completely on board, but I love them here! Very retro and classy. Thumbs up.

    I also think this is an awesome outfit. The empire waist is giving you legs for days, and my eyes were drawn to the color of the necklace matching the shoes, which I thought made both pieces pop. The shoes are aMAZing!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Oh, thank you all-around! I was so unsure of both the hair and the outfit for some reason, but this feedback definitely assuages my fears. :)

      And glad you thought the necklace/shoes complemented/popped! This is about as “matchy-matchy” as I ever get. I do LOVE the shoes… but oh man, by the end of the day, my dogs were BARKING. I stopped into the cobbler’s to see about an emergency stretch, but they need them overnight for that. Only $8, though! So I am def bringing them back soon for a good stretchin’!

      Reply
  • 3. Suzanne  |  March 15, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    I love the hair, girl! You look like a little indie darling!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      Haha, thank you! If only my eyes were as blue as Zooey Deschanel’s… then I’d be unstoppable!

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:20 am

    I looooooooooove these shoes, so jealous! Although I think an 8 would not have fit me if that’s all they had left b/c I fear that my feet are steadily becoming a 9.5 instead of their normal 9. Sad really, I hate that feet get bigger with age. :(

    Cute all-around outfit though! The bangs are growing on me, I like the bang/flippy hair combo. :)

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

      Oh man, yes, these are totally Jenny shoes, aren’t they? I just looked around to try to find them elsewhere for you, but no luck!

      Are you telling me my feet are getting BIGGER? o_O Nooooo!

      Thanks! Still unsure of the bangs myself, despite positive feedback. Idk idk. I wonder if there’s something I could do to make it look better. Aside from going to a pro and saying, “Can you fix this?” ;P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

