anthro trickery?

March 14, 2010 at 5:28 pm 7 comments

I think I was subconsciously influenced by my new (sale!) Anthropologie quilt when I put this outfit together:

Because for some reason I thought the orange and green looked ok together, but now I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking.

Which, ok, it’s not to say it looks heinous or anything, but I’m just not really sure why I went with the sage green cardigan instead of, say, my purple one, which probably would have complemented the orange more. Shmeh! It was still a fun outfit to walk about town in. My friend Kari and I planned on grabbing brunch @ Duffy’s & catching the French film Un prophète over on Clark & Diversey, but instead we ended up wandering around in the sunshine, eating & chatting & shopping (I scored a major deal at Nine West, which you’ll hopefully be seeing here soon). Anyway, the deets – sage cardigan: New York & Company, black cowl-neck knit and cotton dress (first seen here): No Boundaries, black leather belt: Ralph Lauren (thrifted), orange tights: Simply Vera, black leather boots: Bandolino, glittery disco-ball necklace: American Eagle.

Yes, I wore a belt over a cardigan & dress – again. I just can’t seem to stop myself from sporting this look lately. Until we indulge at the Cheesecake Factory, that is, and the belt comes off to make way for outrageously delicious bread, burgers, fries, and, of course, cake.

You think I’m joking? I’m not. The belt came off. I have no shame where burgers and cake are concerned.

Here’s the detail of the cowl-neck, my default earrings from Presence, and my cute new owl ring from Aldo featured in the previous post. What a hoot! (OhyesIdid.)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

owl be yours new bangs

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  March 14, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Glad you don’t let fashion get in the way of food baby comfort. And I really like your cardigan/dress/belt look. I need to get a belt that works with dresses cause I have this adorable sweater dress that looks like a sack on me without something in the middle.

    PS I actually like the green and the orange. It’s more of a fall color palate I think, but this is the first time I’ve really enjoyed your controversial orange tights! But then again, I’m slightly colorblind. (no really I’m not making that up.)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      Oh yes, cinch that baby! Add and belt, and you will be rockin’ that sweater dress for sure. :)

      And yeah, I think you’re right – def more of a fall color scheme, but I’m glad you enjoy the tights this time! ;)

      PS: I did Google Alhambra and HOLY MOLY! That is def a bit presumptuous of them. That vaulting and carving and stonework – oh my! Beautiful! Also Amy, I love that you know that stuff off thte top of your head. :)

      Reply
      • 3. Amy M.  |  March 14, 2010 at 11:25 pm

        Well this is the period I study, late medieval christian-muslim interactions in Spain!
        (And I’m going to Spain this summer so I’m up on its architectural must-sees!)

  • 4. Kari  |  March 14, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    pshhh…I thought you looked cute, in a non matchy-matchy way…you should’ve included the coat in this post too!

    Today was fun…until I stepped on the scale and saw I gained 3 pounds since this morning… ;-O. oh well, that cake was worth it!

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  March 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      Oh, why thank you! I just did the coat a few entries back, so I didn’t think to do it this time.

      It was fun! We need to wander more often. Also, Kari, this is why I don’t even own a scale. No need when the cake is that delish! ;)

      Reply
  • 6. Amy M.  |  March 14, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    PS. I love your quilt!!!! So cute! Though I think perhaps naming it “Alhambra” is a bit of an overstatement on their part. (The Alhambra is a stunning Islamic palace erected in Spain in the Middle Ages when it was ruled by the Muslims. Totally intricate geometric patterning – google it!)

    Reply
  • 7. amelia  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    ahhh that reminds me, i was doing the cute belt around the waist thing at dinner on friday and i kept… loosening…. it as dinner went on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

