textures a-go-go

March 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm 3 comments

I was pretty excited to roadtrip to Iowa tonight and party with some soon-departing friends, two lovely ladies who are both heading for better opportunities in warmer climates. But then my ride fell through. Boo! I know they will all have a good time without me, though. And just because I’m not partying with pals doesn’t mean I can’t wear something cute, right? Of course not!

Different setup today, as the living room was ocupado due to some guests the roomie is hosting. So my room it is! Aqua dress: Anthropologie (on sale a few summers back – so glad I bought), tulip-sleeve cropped jacket: Mossimo, purple tights: Simply Vera.

I love all the different colors in this look, none of which “match,” but – again, same mantra as ever – I think they all still ~go~ together.

Here you can see the metallic sheen of the jacket pretty well, in addition to its texture. The stripes of the dress also have texture to them.

Here’s that texture in the stripes. I also love the ombré of the fabric. Pretty much I love everything about this dress. It’s cinched & elastic-y at the waist, super lightweight & airy to wear, and then it has the most beautiful detailing all over the bodice (click thumbnail at right): from the four very strategically placed cutouts (that I think come across as cute & flirty on me rather than trashy, thanks to my smaller bust) to the braiding all around the neckline and straps. Oh, and the cutout earrings are NY&Co.; while my fave coin necklace is by Jack Landstra – please check out his etsy shop!

And still more texture in the form of ruffles on my mustard Mary Janes by xhilaration. Love love LOVE these shoes. They click-clack quite satisfyingly, too – just enough to make you love walking down the street but not too much to be annoying.

Ah, Friday. What will the weekend bring?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

green stems on a rainy day owl be yours

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lucydower  |  October 2, 2012 at 2:10 am

    I want your shoes!!! Where did you get them from?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  October 2, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Target! A few years back!

      Reply
  • 3. dwiggin3  |  November 26, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    I would totally buy these shoes…if you were selling them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

