gold medal–worthy

March 9, 2010 at 10:46 am 2 comments

ATTENTION, ATTENTION! APOLO OHNO IS IN CHICAGO! Such amazing news! But why so foggy on so glorious a day?!

This was the view from the 13th floor of my building around 7am. (Yes, the 13th floor. Yes, I know, this is how horror movies begin…)

It was like a whiteout out there! So crazy.

But with Apolo in town and fog in the air, I had to wear something to stand out, right? Catch his eye? Well, nothing gets Apolo Ohno’s attention more than…

You guessed it – GOLD! Am I right? ;)

Hahaha, ok, so I had wanted to dress ~amazingly~ today on the off chance that I did run into Apolo – because I actually have a habit of seeing celebrities (Ben Stiller) or meeting them (Jason Mraz; patron saint of HLASK, Clinton Kelly) randomly about town here in Chicago. It’s pretty awesome, not gonna lie! BUT I couldn’t dress up too cutesy-fancy today, as I’m staying over at my friend Teri‘s tonight – like I do most Tuesdays after having a delicious dinner and watching American Idol & LOST – and when I do that, it’s easiest to just have a pair of jeans & grab a new top. (Yes, I wear jeans 2 days in a row, and I know I’m not the only one – don’t pretend!)

If this outfit looks familiar, it’s because you’ve seen almost the exact same one featured here already. Gold sequin top: H&M, black shrug: White House Black Market, jeans: American Eagle, black leather boots: Bandolino. But I like it here with the shrug since it’s more snug & rather figure-flattering while also showing off more of the golden top. And now that it’s sunny outside downtown, all those rays of light will surely bounce off every swirly, golden sequin and reflect back out to Apolo, wherever he may be, dazzling him like a lighthouse in the fog, beckoning him home to my embrace!!!

What?

*blink*

Anywho! On to jewelry!

Hai Apolo… wanna show me yer medals? I like shiny things…

Love this pendant (also featured before) from TJ Maxx. I hardly have any gold jewelry, but this really caught my eye.

And I… cannot for the life of me remember where I got these earrings. Bah. That’s gonna bug me. Again, some of the little gold jewelry that I have. I like the dangly bits, the 3 different colors. Much like 3 different colored medals…

WHAT?! Shut. up.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

i’d like to thank the academy… green stems on a rainy day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  March 9, 2010 at 11:18 am

    lol, i lvoe you. you are crazy.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

      :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

