oscars 2010: the best & the rest

March 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm 10 comments

Well, the big show is over. No huge surprises this year – except Neil Patrick Harris opening the show. That was a nice surprise. Though my favorite part was probably Ben Stiller presenting Best Makeup in full Avatar garb. I laughed so hard. I love him so much.

But! This is not the place to discuss my deep love of the man who brought us Derek Zoolander and Hansel (so hot right now); it’s a place to talk clothes. So let’s take a look at the trends on this year’s red carpet.

Letting their hair down:

From this year’s winner, Sandra Bullock, to last year’s winner, Kate Winslet, to… one of Charlie’s Angels (sorry, Cam, we’ll get back to you later), I noticed a lot of hair down & side-swept with minimal fuss. Often I think it’s a little bit of a cop-out, but these three ladies look great, I must say. When your hair is that shiny and/or voluminous, why mess with perfection?

Full-On Monet

Maggie Gyllenhaal and Rachel McAdams took risks this year with unique prints, both of which rather resemble brushstrokes – Maggie’s a sort of thick, frantic acrylic and Rachel’s a soft watercolor. I applaud both of them for daring to try something different, but I think Rachel looks miles better than Maggie. I would’ve loved Maggie’s print in another cut – the column dress does nothing for her figure, and the bodice gives her a flat, droopy bust. I’d love to see her in some kind of structured halter for once – hoist the girls up where they should be!

One is the loneliest number

Tina Fey, Molly Ringwald (there as part of a super classy & touching John Hughes tribute), Queen Latifah, Sigourney Weaver, and, um, yours truly (hee hee) all sported one-shoulder dresses. Glad to see that I was on point with this trend! Tina’s dress is just ok for me – I don’t like what TLo would call the “titscrepancy” of the bustline (notice how every other one-shoulder dress here is straight across or drapes rather than seeming to combine two distinct cuts? that’s a titscrepancy). I honestly loved Molly’s – gorgeous color on her, though not loving the hair. Queen’s was also very pretty, but I would’ve liked it better in a richer color – maybe a jewel tone like sapphire or emerald – as that dusty orchid doesn’t really do anything for her skin tone. And Sigourney… the woman is 60 years old and could pass for one in her 40s! Amazing. She looks statuesque and classy, though I do feel like the single shoulder strap, the brooch, and the ribbon all on one side makes it feel just a bit off balance. I’ll let you guys judge mine. ;)

Business in the front, party in the back…

Oh dear. Now we have come to what my pal Jen dubbed the “mullet dresses,” a very apt (& hilarious) description. I just do not understand what’s happening here. Why would lovely starlets Carey Mulligan and Zoe Saldana (whose dress had a split in the front that made her dress appear very much like Carey’s – in fact, they presented together, causing the mullet dress outcry to be that much more intense) do such a thing? Was Carey trying to show off her chunky shoes? Make her body appear sort of weirdly hunchy-slouchy? And was Zoe – whose dress caused me to gasp upon first glance, thinking I loved it before seeing ALL THIS BUSINESS – trying to remind us she is the go-to sci-fi girl these days? First Star Trek, then Avatar, now Sea Anemones from the Purple Depths – next: THE WORLD! Carey’s would’ve been so much better without the mullet factor. And Zoe’s, well… I still kind of like it. She took a risk. It’s just a LOT going on. Take it down a notch or 12, then we’ll talk.

Biggest Disappointments

SARAH, SARAH, SARAH. CARRIE BRADSHAW WOULD BE MORTIFIED. Oh, just… where do I begin? I love Sarah Jessica Parker, but I do not love a single thing about this look – which makes me sad, because I have always championed her! Sack dress, horrible color for her skin tone, and awful hair. Come now, you’re back to promoting Carrie & the girls soon, so please get it together. And Charlize Theron, I want your life for one minute, so that my face is so gosh darn beautiful that it almost distracts you from my cupcake boobs. But no. They are still cupcake boobs. WTF? TLo called them “cinnaboobs,” which may be even more apt (not to mention hilar). And Diane Kruger, just… why on earth would you choose this? Unless you wanted to be washed out by a droopy, saggy, sad sack of a used-toilet-paper-lookin’ dress, of course. In which case, bravo, well done!

Best Dressed
I’m actually calling a tie. First up:

The aforementioned Ms. McAdams. ~Stunning, flawless, perfect,~ etc. The colors go beautifully with her coloring; the dress is flowy and feminine; the bodice fits her like a glove; and the makeup & jewelry are simple & lovely.

And now, to my own great surprise,  next up…

Cameron Diaz. I know! I’m as surprised as you, as I never thought I would name her the best of anything, let alone looking the most elegant and gorgeous she’s looked this side of 1994. Golden girl, glamour goddess, what else can I say? It fits her beautifully, showing off her lean, muscular arms & toned surfer’s bod while still softening and flattering her figure, and the hair and makeup are a home run. For once she ditched the messy bedhead or ponytail she so often defaults to, and it served her incredibly well. The entire look reminds you that she started out as a model. Not saying her acting skills have moved far beyond that, but credit where it’s due. A+, Cam.

Entry filed under: Best of, Events, Hair, Nails & Makeup, Trends. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

and the oscar goes to… cool hot mess

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    LOL @ titscrepancy…omg, hilarious.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:50 am

      TLo is friggin hilarious!

      Reply
  • 3. Catt  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Au contraire! I love that Maggie bucks the trend by not cramming her ta-tas into uber-cleavage like everyone else – she’s beautiful, and natural, and we need to see more of that.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:57 am

      I should have been more specific. I’m definitely not advocating her slutting it up with a heaving, unnatural Pamela Anderson bosom. Not at all! She just often tends to wear column-y dresses that flatten her top half, which flattens her whole body and gives her no shape – and as anyone who has seen “Secretary” knows, she definitely has shape! A lovely one at that. I’d just love to see her in a dress like some of the other ladies in this post (none of whom look like Tits McGee) that flatters her more. Something like this look:

      I don’t love that specific dress, but the bodice is just heaps more flattering on her, don’t you think? That’s all I mean. :) She definitely always wears something interesting, though, that’s for sure!

      Reply
  • 5. Erinn  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I ADORED Queen Latifah’s dress….really the whole look. She was absolutely STUNNING. Also, hot damn Cameron Diaz. I was also impressed.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:59 am

      I LOVE that both Queen and Ellen DeGeneres are Cover Girls. They are so not typical spokespeople for something like a cosmetics company, and it makes me so happy to see their very normal and beautiful faces in ads and commercials.

      Cam Diaz, seriously?! Who woulda thunk?

      Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  March 9, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I absolutely LOVED Rachel’s dress as well; it was my favorite hands-down. I thought, “if Monet had designed a dress, that would be it.”

    Also, thanks for:

    a) the mention ;)

    and b

    b) your wonderful blog — I am not even a fashionista and I LOVE it!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  March 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Hey, “mullet dresses” was genius, had to give you a shoutout! Speaking of which, Elizabeth Banks’ was a mullet dress, too. I learned that late, otherwise I’d have added her.

      Also thank youuu, I’m glad you enjoy it. I just have fun, but I love that others like it, too. It brightens my day to get encouraging comments from readers. :)

      Reply
  • 9. Andrea  |  March 9, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I’m surprised you don’t mention JLo’s dress, mainly because I’m dying to hear your opinion. Personally, I’m still trying to figure out if it’s constructed from bubble wrap, but perhaps this is a new fashion trend that just hasn’t hit WI yet?

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/03/07/jennifer-lopez-oscars-201_n_489366.html

    Reply
    • 10. Cara  |  March 13, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      It does look like bubble wrap! But idk, I was kind of indifferent to it? It was a very J.Lo kinda dress, so I thought she kinda worked it. Amanda Seyfried had a very similar one on – almost the same dress, from the same collection – and I don’t think she worked it quite as well as J.Lo. In Amanda’s case, I felt like the dress was wearing HER, as they say. Weird materials, def. I wonder what it looked like in person.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

