and the oscar goes to…

March 7, 2010 at 3:34 pm 8 comments

Greetings on Oscar Sunday! How are all the ~fabulous~ people? Me, I’m doing pretty well.

No Photoshop here, folks – that’s a real Academy Award. (It’s heavy, too – 8.5 lbs, oof!) On Thursday, my friend Roxanne and I went to go check out the little “Meet the Oscars” exhibit at the Shops at North Bridge on Michigan Avenue, aka just outside Nordstrom. It was a quick-and-dirty yet very cool display. Also: FREE!

Click for larger – The Oscar in the middle is the Academy Award going to this year’s Best Actor in a motion picture! (It got shipped out to Hollywood on Friday.) Will it go to the favorite to win, Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart? Or will there be an upset? Personally, I’m a big fan of upsets and would love to see a shocker like Colin Firth winning for A Single Man. We shall see!

And here on the left (click for larger) is Bette Davis’ Oscar for Jezebel, which I sadly have not seen. On the right is the Oscar awarded to the DuPont Film Manufacturing Corporation and Eastman Kodak Company in 1930/31 for super-sensitive panchromatic film. There was also a display of the Oscar-creation process, with 5 or 6 Oscars in various stages of completion. Forgot to take a picture of that, oops!

Finally they had the big set-up that you see in the 1st pic of this post where a professional camera from Kodak took your picture, printed out an instant copy, and gave you a card with info on a free hi-res download of your image. Pretty cool – thanks, Kodak!

I’m in love. His name is Oscar.

I’m also having a small Oscar viewing party with just a few fabulous friends. We are, of course, dressing up totally glam! Here’s what I’m wearing (yes, I did try on my ensemble ahead of time the other night, ha – what, you know the stars do it!):

Tada! It’s the White House Black Market dress I got outlet shopping with my friend Elizabeth for just $40 – down from $168. SUCH a steal! Ugh, I love it, love it. Have been wanting to try a one-shoulder dress for so long, found a GORGEOUS one at Nordstrom, but it was way, waaaaay too expensive (I think $200-$300), so I’m so glad I ended up finding this one. (I got the size 6.)

The flowy fabric on the front crosses over the empire waist and drapes up over the one shoulder strap:

It then continues down as a long, flowing sash in back. Side view:

Better back view:

This dress is so impossibly fun!

I feel like Audrey Hepburn or something. :)

Wheeeeeeeee! (The shiny grey heels are Nine West, btw – slightly big, could use some heel liners, but only $15 in a 6pm.com sale!)

What says Hollywood glam more than thick black eyeliner & red lips? Headband from New York & Company, earrings from American Eagle.

I can’t even remember where I got this pendant – I’ve had it forever. I think it was a Christmas gift. No idea where it’s from. But for our purposes, we can just pretend it’s Fred Leighton or Harry Winston. ;) I wasn’t even sure I should wear a necklace at all with this one-shoulder look – would it distract/take away from that effect? – but it’s simple enough. I think it mostly works, yeah?

Nails in Plum Luck by Sally Hansen, and I thought the ring was 1928, but I don’t see their stamp on it anywhere, so maybe it’s not (click for larger).

I can’t wait to party & watch the show! It will be a ~classy affair~ obviously. :) Will do a post-party post or addendum with my equally fashionable friends added. Enjoy the show, everyone!

Entry filed under: Events, Hair, Nails & Makeup, Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

sssunny sssaturday oscars 2010: the best & the rest

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  March 7, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    That dress is amazing! I cannot believe you found that for $40. AMAZEBALLS.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:05 am

      Thanks! I still really can’t either! Almost didn’t get it. SO glad I did!

      Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  March 7, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Totally Glam!!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:05 am

      thanks ;)

      Reply
  • 5. Melanie  |  March 7, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Great dress!!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:06 am

      thank you! almost didn’t buy because I didn’t have a “reason” or occasion – but I am very glad I did! Who can pass up a $40 dress this cute & classic? :)

      Reply
  • 7. fabgeekling  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:25 am

    My friend Marianna was working that gig!

    Did you see the RedEye contest about putting together an outfit for $40? You should totally do it!

    Reply
  • 8. Chico Stylist  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Very cute! There is nothing like an out-let bargain. Try this dress with no stocking and sexy black strapy shoes for spring. It will look great as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

