spring has (almost) sprung!

March 5, 2010 at 10:20 am 4 comments

What’s that giant, shining ball in the sky?!

Holy crap, it’s the SUN! It’s also March. And sun + March means spring has almost sprung. It’s also the perfect combination for flats. Unlike my dear friend Katy – who only just recently broke down and traded in her flats for boots after soldiering through slush & cold for weeks, all in the name of style – I’ve been wearing boots aplenty (as any regular readers of HLASK know). But I’ve been as desperate to wear flats as Katy was – just not as brave, I guess!

NOW IS THE TIME!

Shirt: xhilaration, cardigan: Express, jeans: American Eagle.

Flats: Urban Outfitters, on serious sale, like $9. They’re getting a bit beaten up (clearly) – heck, there’s hardly anything to them – but I will wear them until they completely fall apart. Love ’em.

Here are all the great details I so love: cute cut-out pattern adorning the empire waist top, multicolored sequins on the trim of the cardigan, cutouts from the top echoed in wooden earrings from NY & Co., and faux turquoise necklace from Presence in Andersonville. I love this necklace a ton, but it really makes a statement, so I try to wear it only occasionally. It’s difficult to hold back!

As an aside, I recently picked up this Cover Girl TruBlend mineral bronzer in Natural Bronze:

I normally use Bare Minerals, but that stuff is expensive, so I thought I’d try something else. Just grabbed this at the grocery store and really dig it. I don’t know if it’s simply because I haven’t worn it in so long, but it’s amazing what a dash of bronzer can do for your face (and your attitude).

Back to today:

Tried yet another Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polish, this one in Plum Luck. While I get slightly irritated about having to apply 3 coats of polish, I generally love its staying power. (Also in the shot above is my Anne Klein watch.)

Anyway, it’s Friday. I feel good. Hello, seasonal-affective disorder! (Not really – don’t we all feel better when the sun is shining?)

Shades from Target (skyline courtesy of Uptown):

Spring and summer in the city… bring it.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

a little bit obama sssunny sssaturday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bryan  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I love it the last picture. Will Photoshop to look more badass be prepared haha

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  March 5, 2010 at 11:35 am

      Yessss. Can’t wait!

      Reply
  • 3. fabgeekling  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I wore flats to my moms last Saturday. She gave me a lecture on how it’s winter and how I should wear warm shoes. =/

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:51 am

      Ha! That’s a mom for ya. I mean, technically it is still winter, but c’mon, we’ve been dying for some sun! She’ll get over it. ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

