a little bit obama

February 27, 2010 at 4:58 pm 8 comments

Hello there! Everyone enjoying their weekend?

I’m hanging out with a friend I haven’t seen in far too long today – and I also decided to wear some boots I haven’t worn in far too long. So I crafted this outfit to go along with ’em. I think it works, yeah?

The shirt is one I just got (and featured) not long ago at Ann Taylor Loft, and the sweater skirt is Merona from Target. The belt (Ralph Lauren, thrifted) over the cardigan (NY & Co.) is a little Michelle Obama, but I think it’s kinda cute!

I really like the way you use this belt, too – putting it through the hoop like that and wrapping it around. It was a good find at Crossroads in Evanston (I think).

And here are some more detailed pics of the beloved John Fluevog boots (as promised to Val long ago):

Velvet ties in the back:

And the adorable buttons (so Victorian) and scalloped wedge heel:

Don’t you just love? I do! :)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

matilda jeffries meets cleopatra spring has (almost) sprung!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  February 27, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    LOVE the boots. A lot. Purple is my favorite color. :)

    Also, I am not a fan of yellow in general but I think it works here.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 28, 2010 at 12:55 am

      Thanks! The colors are definitely off in my pics – or my screen, or your screen – however, as the boots are more burgundy/maroon/merlot than purple and the cardigan is more sage green than yellow. Alas! Good enough. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  February 27, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Your hair looks super cute!!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  February 28, 2010 at 12:56 am

      oh why thank you! It’s ~in motion~ here, as I took this pic while walking, so I’m glad you think it looks cute. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Valarie  |  March 1, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Aww, just for me?? Now I love them even more! The very last picture, with the little buttons and that heel? So very lovely.

    And I definitely see the Obama-ness, especially in the “in motion” picture. That pic is fierce! You’ve even got her little smirk, that “Yeah, bitches, I OWN this look!” vibe. I could keep gushing, this whole post just made me grin.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  March 1, 2010 at 12:55 am

      And this comment made me grin!! :} ty for those compliments! I think Mrs. O is class personified – glad to share even a smirk in her realm!

      Reply
  • 7. Melanie  |  March 4, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Wow, great boots!!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  March 4, 2010 at 7:12 pm

      thanks very much! I spent a lot on them — though they were still on sale and simply so beautiful! I had to! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

