greyness / weirdness

February 25, 2010 at 12:24 pm 3 comments

ALERT! I found the perfect grey nail polish!

I thought I’d found the perfect grey before (OPI Metro Chic), but I accidentally got that “matte” crap from Sephora. Hate. Anyway, this one is awesome.

Like the Grass Slipper green I wore around Valentine’s Day, this taupe-y grey color, called Commander in Chic, also comes from the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure line. The polish itself is a little inconsistent (as was the green, so apparently this line is consistently inconsistent! heh), so this is 3 coats. They say you don’t need a top coat, but upon noticing a couple of tiny chips after painting (probably because it was 3 coats thick), I touched up and added one anyway.

ALSO of note: remember my zebra-like nail art?

Check out what happened when I took it off last night:

UMM, WEIRD! I just rubbed the nail polish remover on as usual – though there wasn’t as much remover left on the cotton pad at the time – but how bizarre is that? Notice that the purple that remains is exactly where the silver stripes were applied (see previous pic). Guess all those areas were triply enforced and took more effort to remove. Or something?

Either way – weirdo/neato!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: , , .

sine hollyhock dress matilda jeffries meets cleopatra

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SWF_Terra  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    That taupe is gorgeous. I love that it’s Sally Hanson (ie available in my drugstore at a reasonable price).

    Do you paint your own? If so, question: How do you prevent the polish from bubbling?

    That didn’t sound too Dwight Schrute, did it?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      Not too Dwight Schrute at all! Oh, Dwight…

      Wellll, the polish in this line is actually a bit expensive in my book – at $6-$7 each – but it lasts for two solid weeks, and I do like the wider brush. Plus the colors are great, even if you need to do a few coats.

      Related: did you know that you can return any cosmetics to CVS, even opened and used? I just learned this and was gobsmacked! Apparently as long as you have the receipt, you can return anything within 30 days, and they will send you over to get something you like instead. I believe this is chain-wide, but you might want to check your local store. In any case, point is, you could always try buying it there!

      I do paint my own nails. I’m not sure if I have a specific technique to prevent bubbling, but I guess I’ve never noticed it happening! I think it all depends on having the right amount of polish on the brush and also letting the polish dry between coats. (Also I usually always do a base coat and top coat,which helps tremendously.) My other technique is to always paint the hand you usually write with first (I’m right-handed, so I paint my right first) because I think it somehow tricks your brain a bit. It becomes easier to paint with your ‘other’ hand if you haven’t just painted with your ‘right’ hand. Does that make any sense? Ha, it does to me, and I really think it helps!

      And helloo, rambling!

      Reply
      • 3. SWF_Terra  |  March 1, 2010 at 9:25 am

        Oh I love rambles. I do it all of the time.

        I had forgotten that little nugget about CVS. I’ll have to try that. I purchased an emerald green nail polish that didn’t pan out the way I had hoped. I probably should have taken it back.

        I get a little too antsy when i’m painting my nails. I end up painting 4 coats (I too do a base and top coat) and I just want it all to be over. I think I use too much polish too quickly. Last night I gave myself a lot of time between coats and noticed a significant improvement.

        Great tip with the painting order. I always start with my left because that’s how I do my toes. I always heard you should start with your foot that is opposite the hand you write with so that you aren’t reaching over wet paint. But that doesn’t apply to hands!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,647 hits since 12/29/2009

