sine hollyhock dress

February 18, 2010 at 10:29 pm 7 comments

My friend Jess got an awesome dress on sale at Anthropologie tonight, and as we were discussing, I got inspired to try on my Anthro steal from a while back and share it here. (I’d been waiting for it to warm up a bit, too, but fergetaboudit!)

Behold! The Hollyhock Dress by Sine:

I was totally in love with this dress when I saw it on the website (it’s no longer there) – you know how I love grey, and here it was paired with super-bright pinks & a super-springy print. I just feel like cool grey + brights = ultra modern & sophisticated. Also love the corset-like look of the bodice. Plus the straps and contrasting trim detail done in the floral print (click thumbnail at right for larger) make it really unique. The poufy-ish skirt was the only thing I was wary of, but the dress is actually made of pretty stretchy fabric. This is the size 8, which is very snug up top – fits perfectly, I think – and is still a smidge poufy on the bottom, but purposely so. It’s got a bit of a tulip-y fullness in the design…

I love the exposed zipper, too. Also pardon my awkward arms/shoulders and how they’re creating a bit of overflow that is not actually there when standing normally.

The dress has pockets, too! (Man, look at me, totally brainwashed by Project Runway and the entire fashion world into getting excited over such an unusable design element.) But I totally forgot to take a picture. Sorry. Anyway, it was originally $168, and I got it for $40! It’s really well-made, too. Definitely worth the price.

These heels are Nine West:

I’ve been in search of a perfect nude pump for some time, and sadly these don’t fit the bill (or I’m just too pale for them to seem nude… ahem); but they were only $15 via a 6pm.com sale, so I’m still happy to keep them. Plus, they’re leather (so they’ll last & hold up relatively well), and I think the yellow woven trim (closer view at right) is just so cute.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

more brights greyness / weirdness

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Valarie  |  February 19, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I do not have enough exclamation points to show how much I LOVELOVELOVE this dress! You have so many powerful pieces in your wardrobe, and seem to be able to effortlessly throw together amazing looks. My jeans-and-t-shirt closet is full of envy, believe me.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:54 am

      aah, thank you!! <3

      you know i'd totally help you upgrade the tees & jeans!!

      Reply
  • 3. Neely  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:36 am

    you look so hot in this dress cara, I cannot even tell you! the dress itself on the rack would never scream amazing to me, but it looks perfect on you – absolutely gorgeous!! and I love grey too.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:58 am

      oh man, thank you!! :)

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  February 23, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    ooo, it looks like you got one of those little icon picture things that show up next to the Url…I forget what those are called even though you mentioned it one time on twitter. ;)

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Haha, yeah! I already forgot and had to look it up again just now. It’s a FAVICON!

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Favicon

      fun fact: the leopard in my favicon was cropped from the pic of my leopard print dress :)

      Reply
      • 7. Cara  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:08 pm

        PS I had no idea what to put for my favicon, and it was really hard. I tried shoes, but none looked right.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

