mk on michigan ave

February 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm 2 comments

Here I am sporting my new Michael Kors coat while walking down Michigan Ave. last night after leaving my friend Teri’s (she made Chicken Baseballs, mmm! – check out her blog!):

Ummm, I kinda love it, not gonna lie. :) It is just as cozy as I imagined!

You may remember the Abominable Chocolate SnowCara, but that was not actually a fur-hooded coat – it was just a fur hoodie underneath – and I’ve been desperate for one because of how cozy they seem (and apparently are). Not only that, but a hood just sometimes works better for both the weather and whatever styling has been done to one’s hair, y’know?

Anyway, I’m pretty sure the Michael Kors coat I got as an early birthday present (only $60 at CostCo – which is still absurd to me) is this one, but in slate grey:

My chocolate brown down coat is definitely warm, but it’s also super bulky. I feel like a marshmallow in it sometimes (hence SnowCara).

This one is definitely more sleek – but it’s also not as warm, what with poly-fill rather than down. Then again, that’s what layering is for.

Noticeably absent is the coveted (faux) fur-lined hood. I really feel like they took the coat above and attached the hood from this coat below:

That’s about the slate grey color my coat is, too. I’ll try to take a pic tonight and add it to this post. (Added! See below.)

Anyway, point is, fur-lined hoods = awesome eskimo cozy-cuteness. :)

Update! Here’s my coat:

Avec hood:

Annnd there you go!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , .

smocked waist dress + shrug more brights

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Valarie  |  February 19, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Seriously? I’m making some chicken baseballs tomorrow night. How friggin awesome is Teri’s website??! I have so many things I need to try! Thanks for sharing that!

    Also, I really like this jacket. Super sleek.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:48 pm

      I totally thought I replied to this! I passed on your compliment to Teri but forgot to reply! How did you like the baseballs – amazing, right? Mmmm!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

