smocked waist dress + shrug

February 16, 2010 at 10:26 am 7 comments

‘Ello, everyone! It’s actually sunny today, so that puts me in a sunny mood – and also in the mood to wear a dress. Picked up this Merona dress at Target for $25 – it’s super light & comfy & a nice print (not leopard, though it does kinda look like it). Plus the smocked elastic waist is super flattering.

The shrug is from White House Black Market, and it is ~PERFECT, FLAWLESS, STUNNING~ etc. Also expensive. I would probably never pay full price for it, but I got a deal. I got it in size Small, and the thing is very stretchy and soft (77% silk, 21% nylon, 2% spandex) and will go with so many dresses and tops. It’s totally versatile. Not to mention that, according to my cousin, you can practically ball it up in a clutch for a night out and then take it out & put it on with nary a wrinkle. Awesome. This kind of high-quality, functional clothing is worth a little more money to me.

The shoes are the Nine West gold flats I got for $15 through a 6pm.com sale. I love how they’re kind of like, grandma chic. If I ever spawn – and that kid eventually spawns as well – you can bet your butt I’ll be a chic grandma.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

everyday chic mk on michigan ave

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate aka VB  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

    You will TOTES be a chic G-Ma.

    Reply
  • 2. jenontheroad  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:59 am

    I have been very impressed with Merona dresses from Target. My fave (acquired last spring) reminds me a little of yours, because of the smocking. Photos:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/jstedham/SpringAndSummer09#5438884726950576898 (yes, this is an Adam photo, but it shows the cute tie at the neck)

    http://picasaweb.google.com/jstedham/SpringAndSummer09#5438885806490751394 (you can kind of see the smocking at the waist a bit better here)

    In any case, SUPER cute combo :)

    Reply
    • 3. jenontheroad  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:59 am

      BTW, this is @jstedham from twitter!

      Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:07 am

      That dress is SUPER cute! I love the cut!

      Reply
      • 5. jenontheroad  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:20 am

        Thank you! I am not the most fashionable person ever, and I am perpetually on a budget — clothes from Target make lookin’ cute super easy for me. :)

        Also, I’ve noticed that the smocked waist is flattering on multiple figures — it can help create the illusion of hips for those who are thin, and it accentuates the curves of those of us who have boobs and hips.

  • 6. Amy M.  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    DUDE that dress makes you look TINY! Way to be hot!

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      THANK you!! Gotta love a smocked waist! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

