everyday chic

February 15, 2010 at 7:03 pm 7 comments

Having made a trip to Michigan this weekend to see the fam and celebrate my Aunt Cheryl’s 50th birthday, I ended up coming back with, well, about 2/3s of this ensemble:

I feel like this is such an easy, chic everyday look. As Stacy and Clinton say, a jacket is the easiest & fastest way to pull an outfit together (not to mention slim & streamline your body). And I actually got 1/3 of this at CostCo. No joke. You are not the only one in shock & disbelief!

In addition to being the birthday girl, Aunt Cheryl also happens to be the CostCo Queen, and I finally made my first trek to the massive warehouse with her and the fam. Beyond 32-packs of Coca-Cola and bizarre square gallons of milk, CostCo apparently has some really cute clothes at great prices. Who knew? I got these dark-wash Calvin Klein skinny (they were labeled skinny, but they look kinda straight-leg) jeans for $22. I couldn’t even try them on in the store – I had to guess. I opted for the size 10 (a 10 x 31 – I maybe should’ve looked for longer length, but length completely slipped my mind), and they fit… pretty much perfectly. That NEVER happens, especially with jeans! CostCo seems to be more magical than I ever knew! I’ve also been obsessed with getting a pair of Calvins with this specific back-pocket detail (see photo at right) since high school – I just think it’s so cute/flattering. But I’ve never found the right pair (right size, right fit, right wash, etc.) – until now. *cue angel chorus*

They also happen to be high-waisted. I know a lot of people are probably wary of high-waisted jeans, but they don’t all automatically equal mom jeans. And when you find the right fit, they’re kind of universally flattering – unless you carry a lot of weight around your middle, I guess. But a few extra pounds in front aside, they do wonderful things from behind. I’m telling you. Whether you’ve got junk in the trunk or are less than blessed in back, if you’ve never tried high-waisted jeans, you owe it to your ass to try a couple of pairs. Although, after wearing these at work all day, I must admit, they start to really feel tight in the middle after sitting for hours because they dig in right around your belly button. Sooo they may have to be my ~going out~ jeans.

I got this top at Ann Taylor Loft on clearance for $10:

Cute, no? (The corduroy jacket is also Ann Taylor Loft.)

More detail:

My default faux turquoise earrings from Presence; necklace from Express.

I loooove baubles! Ring from Kohl’s, and check my previous post on the nails.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

zebra-like nail art smocked waist dress + shrug

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Love the nails and the whole ensemble! I think we will have to go to Costco more often.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      why thank you, sounds like a good idea! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Amy M.  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    I am glad we share a love of the Loft.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  February 17, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      But of course! Just wish I could afford more of it. I’ve been a little underwhelmed lately, though. Stuff looks really casual (read: boring) – needs more baubles and ruffles and crap! ;)

      Reply
      • 5. Amy M.  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:03 pm

        I AGREE! If I want a plain tee, i can get it at tarjay. I want something *special* when I’m paying more!
        (I usually only shop there on gift cards though – my aunt knows of my love for the loft. But bonus, teachers get a discount!)

  • 6. Sarah  |  March 17, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I had the same wow experience buying Calvin Klein pants from Sam’s Club (I wish we had Costco in Cedar Rapids). I just grabbed roughly my size and both the capris I bought over the summer and the corduroys I bought this fall have been by far the best fitting pants I currently own.

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:03 pm

      So glad to hear it! Yeah, I don’t have easy access myself to the big box club stores like Sam’s or CostCo, but I guess I could hop a ride with Teri sometime perhaps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

