rosey-cozy head wrap

February 7, 2010 at 10:18 pm 4 comments

Here I am at Broadway and Diversey waiting for the 36 Northbound bus after a solo day of movies (while it was Super Bowl Sunday for most, it was Oscar-nom Sunday for me – saw both A Single Man and The Last Station) and a wee bit of shopping. From this angle, it appears that I’m wearing a cute, though standard, knit hat.

But I’m not!

It’s actually a very cute wrap/headband thinger that I got at Akira on Diversey. (Haha, it still looks like a hat, doesn’t it? Better pics below, promise.)

Akira Chicago is kind of crazy, in that they have blown up to be all over the city in what feels like just a few short years, which automatically earns massive respect from me. They’re also very much about giving a voice to Chicago style, which is awesome. Their stuff is pretty hit or miss for me personally, but I get what they’re going for, and you can almost always find at least one thing you like. Clearly, this was my one thing this time.

Some of Akira’s stuff is definitely very overpriced, while other stuff seems super cheap. You really just have to go in and check them out. For instance, I picked up this headband – well, actually I didn’t even know what it was hanging up (it hung flat and open, not closed and circular), so I picked it up out of curiosity – expecting it to be at least $20, but I was surprised that it was $16.00. Suck on that, overpriced crap from Urban Outfitters.

It has two cute tortoiseshell buttons to adjust to fit your head, though it’s quite snug on me with just the first button done. Guess I have a big head. Ahem. ;)

I just like the way this looks, the little pouf it creates. So cute & different. They had it in a few colors. Being blonde, I wasn’t sure about the yellow, but the mustard was actually the only one with a little dimension to it. If you scroll back up and look at the side with the flower, there is a slightly darker color outline on it. All the others were flat, one-color varieties. So mustard won. Plus I have an unhealthy love of mustard. The color, that is, not the flavor. Unless we’re talking honey mustard. Or ~poupon moutarde.~

I couldn’t find the head wrap on Akira’s website, but I think I found the same ones on the website for Lori’s (another Chicago shop) here. They look quite similar and also have the double button, which leads me to believe they are in fact the same (not all of them have the double button), though they cost $6 more. Of course, there are also more available elsewhere online at varying price points and qualities.

Oh! I forgot I lied to you earlier. I actually ended up with two things from Akira – the head wrap and these leggings (in grey – because that’s all they had), which are lined with fleece. HOW AMAZING AN IDEA IS THAT? WHY AM I ONLY JUST NOW FINDING OUT ABOUT THEM? GENIUS!! They’re $16 online (which I would never pay for a pair of leggings), but in store they were on clearance right up by the register for just $5 – score!

I can’t wait to try them out. And with a forecast of up to 10 inches of snow headed our way in the next two days, I’m sure I’ll have ample opportunity. D:

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , .

flower power all buttoned up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    holy crap – way cute head wrap. I have been pondering getting earmuffs for awhile now, because when it’s cold out and I’ve done ANYTHING at all to my hair, a hat is out of the question. But this wouldn’t squish a bun at all!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

      Yes, exactly! My hair isn’t exactly long enough for it now, but sometimes in winter I just feel like a ponytail, too, which does NOT jive with a hat – but again, same deal, this wrap would work perfectly! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Katherine  |  May 24, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Do u sell the thin head wraps ?
    Katherine

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 24, 2010 at 10:37 pm

      No, I’m sorry, I don’t sell them. There is a link or two above in the post, though – good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

