flower power

February 4, 2010 at 10:14 am 2 comments

Why hello, hello there! I’m getting really stinking sick of the cold – if you hadn’t noticed – but today I felt like being defiant and wearing a dress. I had a much more summery dress on first, but it really was not warm or summery enough for that bright one, so I changed into this more subdued (color-wise, not print-wise) standard that I like to wear. I’m a bit more matchy in this than usual, but I still think it’s done right and not too “safe” and “boring.”

The dress is Mossimo, and I got it on serious clearance at Target a year or two ago probably. It really just hangs on me, so a belt (this one from Target) is absolutely necessary to give it any shape. The jacket (also Mossimo) adds to the look too, I think. The dress also has a lot of cute little details that I like: the ruffled flowers at the neck, the black ribbon trim with little metal accents (which you’ll see in a photo below), and the open keyhole in the back where the ribbon comes around to tie (sorry, not the greatest photo – at right).

Purple tights by Simply Vera, boots by Fly London. They’re kind of sinking into my carpet here, but you should check out their detail here, cuz – I know I’ve raved about them before, but it bears repeating – they’re kinda awesome. Just really unique, and that’s why I love ’em.

Here’s some of that detailing I mentioned above, as well as a closer look at my Blair Waldorf headband (from Ann Taylor Loft, I believe):

The whole dress is just really fluttery and feminine, which is fun. There are also some little jewels at the center of the poufy-flowery headband, which I think kind of echos the moddish flowers of the print on the dress. Speaking of which, my earrings (NY & Co, I believe), do the same thing. All of this is what I meant by it being a little more matchy than usual for me, but I think it’s all sorta subtle enough to not be obnoxious and try-hard. No offense if you like to match things perfectly – there can be a certain pleasure and satisfaction in that – but I usually just bore of it too easily. Blame it on a poor attention span. :)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

nerd alert! rosey-cozy head wrap

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  February 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    LOVE those boots!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks! I almost sent them back because they weren’t exactly the color grey I was expecting – in some lights they are greenish-grey – but I’m sooo glad I kept them. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

