brights

January 21, 2010 at 9:25 am 2 comments

Wow, so much exciting new stuff in this picture! I know you are simply RIVETED! Yes, we have a new ~background~ (been trying to find a set-up that gives more light), and I have new hair. I got it cut at a cheap-y walk-in place and then did the color & highlights myself at home. It’s not exactly what I wanted, but still – not bad for a grand total of $30, eh?

Dress… oh, I always forget with all my stupid little cotton dresses. TJ Maxx or Marshall’s? Cardigan: NY & Co. Jeans: American Eagle. Boots: xhilaration. I just love all the bright contrasts here paired with such a subdued neutral as grey in the boots. That plus the dark-wash jeans balance out the bright, I think.

But the jewelry may be my favorite. Or, well, this necklace:

I’ve been intensely drawn to these sort of chain-link-y necklaces since I’ve seen them popping up in stores this past season. I just love the look, the boldness & heaviness of them. But they’re all freakin’ expensive, so I’d had to pass on a lot of them that I really liked. I found this one on sale at Express, though, for something like $11? Originally $40-something. Quite a deal, I’d say. Not sure if you can tell entirely here, but the rhinestones are a greyish/gunmetal color, which I love, as you may have noticed. And my default earrings from Presence.

What are you wearing today? Do brights make you a little wary? And my goodness, how do you like this fab new setup? Is it a keeper, or do you miss the hallway? WOE!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

winter coat psa “i’d like to see some booties”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I too love brights! I wore HOT pink cashmere the other day, and I was at this seminar for the “Art of Teaching” and I was the ONLY person there not wearing black or navy. Teachers need to liven up.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Woo hoo! Way to rock it, Amy. I am proud you are not just another in a sea of boring black or navy. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

