winter coat psa

January 20, 2010 at 8:31 pm 11 comments

Can you spot the fashion faux pas here that irks me like no other?*

*Well, maybe not like NO other, but a whole heckuva lot anyway. And no, it’s not the sneakers. I’m not that snobby.

Y’know what kinda coat she’s wearing? Calvin Klein! Y’know how I know? The tag on the sleeve told me!

ATTENTION: THOSE DESIGNER TAGS ON COAT SLEEVES ARE MEANT TO BE REMOVED! Gah, how do people not know that? Not to mention that they are so cheap-y and ugly and attached by just a few threads… to make them easy to remove!

Don’t believe me? I asked Stacy and Clinton from What Not to Wear to confirm via Twitter:

Stacy came through!

So please, people, unless you want my narrowing eyes of judgment upon you taking creepster photos on the CTA and plastering them on the internet, do us all a favor and cut off that tag! Do you keep visible tags on your other clothes? No!

This has been a public service announcement. The more you know!

By the way, I’d like to give Stacy props for how interactive she is on Twitter. All kinds of people – including some very enthusiastic and adoring fans with Twitter names and backgrounds devoted to her – tweet her questions, projects, links, photos, and countless fashion questions. As far as I can tell, she does her best to answer them all and is super sweet to people. She can come off a bit brash on the show sometimes (though I love her for it, and hey, it’s not mean if it’s true – that’s my motto!), but she’s really great with her fans and the generally curious fashion-minded Twitterverse. Considering how busy she surely is, it’s cool that she takes the time to do it.

Entry filed under: Honey No, I Spy, PSA. Tags: , , .

dots & spots brights

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  January 21, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Why do they put them on the sleeves in the first place?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:38 am

      That’s a good question! Maybe I should follow up with Stacy. My guess is that they hope people don’t realize they’re supposed to remove them and thus get free advertising, hah!

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  January 21, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Thank you! The tag thing drives me nuts, too!

    On a side note, I miss having cable and being able to watch What Not To Wear. I should start watching it online. And I’m going to start following you and Stacy on twitter.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:40 am

      Glad I’m not the only one!

      And good to hear from you! I think I have abandoned LJ altogether, but I’m happy to catch up to your goings-on via Twitter. :)

      PS You should follow Clinton, too! Though he has lapses in use, haha.

      Reply
      • 5. Jackie  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:18 pm

        Clinton’s on there, too? What’s his twitter name?

        BTW, loving the fashion blog. :)

  • 6. Amy M.  |  January 21, 2010 at 10:01 am

    I loved this post. And Stacy for replying to your plea! That’s so cool.

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      Thanks! And I was surprised how active she is on Twitter. Very nice of her!

      Reply
  • 8. Kieran  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Was she wearing a scrunchie too?

    And also, can you mix a bag that color with that dark grey/black jacket/pants?

    Reply
    • 9. Cara  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:43 am

      Hahaha, thankfully not! There is such a great bit in “Sex and the City” about scrunchies.

      And yes, you surely can mix those colors (the bag looks to be a reddish/cranberry with some brown accents?) with dark grey/black, as dark grey and black are neutrals (as would be the brown). Then again, I love me a pop of color. I’m not sure about mixing the STYLE of that bag with a nice coat like that, however. I wasn’t focusing on the bag and don’t remember it clearly, but it looks a little beaten up/casual for such a tailored coat. Then again, she’s also wearing sneakers, so she may just be running from point A to point B and not care too much.

      Reply
  • 10. Adam  |  February 8, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I wonder if they have them on the sleeve like that, so if they are stored in the back rooms of a department store, they can check the brand w/o having to pull the coat off the racks?

    Reply
    • 11. Cara  |  February 8, 2010 at 10:20 am

      Oooh, smart idea!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

