sorta schoolgirl

January 12, 2010 at 10:25 am 1 comment

You know how I’ve mentioned my office has been crazy cold? Well, rumor has it another dept. was too hot, so they turned on the A/C – not to mention the fact that apparently, while the heat itself was on and working, the fan that blows the heat out of the vents… was not. Hence, 64 degrees, indoors, in January, in Chicago. Awesome.

In any event, they finally discovered and began fixing all this yesterday! Hoorah! In anticipation of the ~heatwave~ I was sure to experience, I decided to wear a dress. But, just in case it wasn’t quite toasty yet (we were informed it would rise about a degree an hour), I thought I’d prep by trying something new (for me) and wearing a turtleneck underneath it:

Whenever anyone else has worn this style, I’ve always thought it looked cute and sorta schoolgirl-retro, but I’d never tried it. Now, though, I think… it looks mostly that way on me, too. What say you?

It’s maybe not the perfect turtleneck (from NY & Co.) for this idea (being knit and ribbed), and perhaps a different color might have worked better, but I still think it ~goes~ (as Stacy London would say). Plus I don’t have a huge surplus of turtlenecks, so y’know.

I love this silk dress by Simply Vera, though, with or without a turtleneck. It’s a really classic cut/silhouette juxtaposed with a really modern print and sophisticated color pairing. I love the grey floral-leafy print next to the bold green color blocking. Really works. And the attached elastic belt has a cute bow!

Grey tights from Express, gold flats by Nine West:

I love these Nine West flats, and they were only $15 in an awesome 6pm.com sale. The crappy part, however, is that the buckle on one of them broke, so it bounces/moves around… there may be tape holding it in place right now. Even shittier is that I know it’s not just my pair; my friend Jenny also took advantage of the sale & ordered a pair, and hers did the same thing! Weak, Nine West. Seriously weak. The only reason I’ll forgive you is because we paid $15 rather than whatever ludicrious price these originally cost. They’re super cute and comfy, though, I have to say.

Earrings – which happen to match my American Eagle disco ball pendant perfectly – are… not American Eagle! Strangely, they are from NY & Co., yet they match the American Eagle pendant far better than any of the earrings AE had. Odd, but I’ll take it. Necklace (not pictured) is my knockoff Tiffany heart – thought it solidified that preppy schoolgirl feel.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

lazy earth tones that girl is a monster

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. cassie  |  January 13, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Ah, cute look! We have loads of coloured opaques at http://lovecolour-lovetights.com. I think you might like our online store. So, when you have a min, please take a peek.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,358 hits since 12/29/2009

