does this dress make me look pregnant?

January 4, 2010 at 6:47 pm 6 comments

grey day, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Cuz it’s a maternity dress.

Really!

Maybe I shouldn’t admit that in front of… the entire internet, but can someone please tell me what makes this a maternity dress other than stretchy fabric? NOTHING, as far as I can tell! And I cannot be the only one who has seen cute stuff at Target, wandered over to look at it, and then realized it’s actually maternity. I suppose when my arms aren’t up, the neon yellow empire waist band around the middle could accentuate a protruding basketball-like stomach (see right), but really… I think this cotton dress is adorable and super flattering, especially up top, so I got it anyway in a size Small.

Tights from Express, cheapy synthetic boots (that I get tons of compliments on) from Target, I believe xhilaration.

They are kind of treacherous due to their tiny, worn-down wedge, though. I have fallen several times. Don’t laugh!

Now it’s time to ‘fess up – have any other non-pregnant ladies ever bought something in maternity, either accidentally or on purpose? Based on comments here and on Facebook so far, sounds like a few of you have!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

that boy is a monster yikes, stripes!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Neely  |  January 4, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    it does not in any way shape or form make you look pregnant, but it does look nice “up top” as you say – very boobalicious haha

    and you are not alone, my friend. i too have browse the maternity section at target accidentally…and maybe i bought a maternity skirt there once, too…so what!

    and the boots are super-cute. i’m pretty sure i’ve spent half the money i’ve made in the past couple of years on shoes at target.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  January 4, 2010 at 10:27 pm

      So glad I’m not the only one who’s bought something! I’m pretty sure I got something else from maternity once, on the clearance rack, but I can’t remember what it was. I def cut the tag out, though, haha!

      And thanks, yes, the girls, as Stacy & Clinton call them, are nicely cared for in this dress! The wrap-like cups of it are seriously stretchy and would look good on any chest size, methinks.

      Reply
  • 3. gibbeh  |  January 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    It definitely doesn’t make you look pregnant! You look GORGEOUS! I’ve sometimes seen stuff on maternity racks and wanted to try them. Snaps for you for taking a chance on it!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  January 4, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      Aw, thank you! And haha, as I told Neely above, I have definitely gotten something off a clearance rack that was maternity before – and cut the tag out! – but can’t remember for the life of me what it is. Wish I did.

      But yeah, idgaf that it’s maternity – cuter than half the Merona dresses on the other side (that were the same price) if you ask me.

      Reply
  • 5. Paul_Vogt  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    This dress makes you look like a superhero. I thought it, and Andrea made me tell you. Sorry/You’rewelcomeforthecompliment!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:43 pm

      Hahaha, no need to apologize! I think that’s pretty bitchin’, and I can totally see where you got that. :) Thank YOU!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

