black & golden girl

January 2, 2010 at 3:32 pm 4 comments

black & gold, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Happy New Year! Hope everyone had a fun & safe time. Here we have what I was originally going to wear on New Year’s Eve, but… then I figured I’d be overdressed at a chill party my friend Teri @ Make a Whisk was having, so I changed into jeans and a cute top at the last minute. (I was right – I would’ve been.)

However! For the right occasion, I think this would’ve been a good look.

The dress – by apt. 9 from Kohl’s – is super comfy and also pretty flattering. I love flutter sleeves because they add volume to my upper half (and thus attract eyes and attention upward as well) while also offering a little camouflage for those of us who don’t have Michelle Obama’s arms. ;) Then the volume and flutter is echoed in the hemline ruffle at the bottom for a balanced look.

Even though a deep-V neckline is normally great for showing off a necklace, I never wear one with this dress because it would compete with the large, bold, gold & black medallions around the waist (there’s also a tie at the waist around the back). With accents this large, I don’t think any extra accessories are necessary. I was actually a little wary of them when I picked up this dress, but, after putting it on, I liked it – the simplicity of the dress justifies a single bold accent.

Plus, y’know, you feel a little like Wonder Woman.

I thought the purple tights were just fun for NYE and added a little color, and again, because it’s cold and gross out, I opted not for heels but instead went with black leather Bandolino boots.

I was also pretty pleased to have finally accomplished a bit of a smoky eye look, which is always seems so elusive, no matter how many magazine tutorials I read or or how-to sets I buy. But, wouldn’t you know, this was achieved through just that: a set called VS Ultimate Smoky Eyes from Victoria’s Secret that I got as a Christmas gift. Not having a whole lot of faith in VS makeup, I was extremely surprised that this worked so well. The package calls it a silky shadow palette, and it was indeed silky, smooth, and creamy – the eyeliner color in particular. It really went on like eyeliner, perfect for smudging and blending, and I was very impressed. I was also surprised because, apart from the sparkly black eyeliner, the colors weren’t all blacks, greys, or even blues, but rather light pink and purples. Maybe that’s the secret.

Lips are done with Revlon ColorStay Overtime Lipcolor in Stay Currant (which was apparently a limited edition shade), and the earrings are the American Eagle crescents, which go perfectly with the dress’ gold medallions since they’re both a muted, antique gold.

What beauty product has surprised or impressed you? Have you been able to perfect the elusive smoky eye look? How’d you do it? I’m curious what works!

In any case, Happy 2010 from me & Teri! :)

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

best dresses of the decade that boy is a monster

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    What Beauty Product has suprised or impressed me? I’m personally addicted to the C.O. Bigelow Mentha Lip Tints infused with peppermint oil. Fresh breath, tasty lickable taste, and fun subtle sheer shades like bright pink, violet, or coral orange are all attractive, shiny, and easy!

    I am not wild about their glittery fruit glosses though, which i find rather sticky and weird tasting.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      I don’t have the mentha kind bc I’m not a big fan of mint, but I do love C.O. Bigelow’s almond one! It’s my fave lipgloss, and I actually just put some on! :) It DOES taste delish when you get a lil lick.

      Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Love the smokey eyes! Really debated if the VS makeup would be a good buy…glad to see the results! Would love for you to try it out on me some day and show me how it’s done.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  January 3, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      But of course! Although a lot of your makeup is usually in the purple family, so it might not look drastically different – though the black eyeliner definitely would.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

