grape escape

December 30, 2009 at 11:50 am 9 comments

grape escape, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Lawd, do I need a haircut. And a less evil-scheming expression. Anywho, this is one of those 90% off, $7 dresses I got. Are you jealous?

Aaah, I love it! So much color!

Apparently I really love this chartreuse-y color mixed with purple, as I’ve worn & loved it before, but no matter. You don’t pass up a 90%-off $7 Simply Vera dress (thus, no longer on their website) this cute:

There were actually only a few of these dresses left on the sale rack in sizes 4, 10, 12, and 16. While my pant-size is 10/12, my dress size is not. I’m usually a 6/8 in dresses (or a 10 depending on the cut & style), so I was left to try on the size 4. I’ll admit it’s a little snug/could use a little more room in the arms, but I would’ve been swimming up top in any of the other sizes. And the dress is billowy enough to still fit on the bottom.

Lesson: even if they don’t have your usual size, try one on in a size close to it – you really never know, and everything fits differently, especially when cut and fabric come into play.

The silk feels great, and I think the floral print is really fun. Plus it’s not too big to overwhelm my frame. That’s definitely something I’ve learned from Stacy & Clinton: proportion is a huge factor with prints and patterns. A big print will overwhelm a small frame, and a tiny print might look a little off on a large one. I think this one is a happy medium. (The print also really closely resembles the one on my beloved Hayden-Harnett for Target umbrella – huh!)

I threw my trusty NY & Co. cardigan over it, but the neckline is actually quite pretty, even if it is a little snug around the arms, and the dress came with a little glam, removable brooch:

I can already tell the weight of it is pulling on the silk, though, creating larger holes where the pin goes through. We’ll see what happens with that. I actually took the brooch off the other dress and sewed it to the fabric strap myself (as it’s much more sturdy than silk).

The tights are also Simply Vera, and they look and feel great. I’m mad I accidentally bought 2 colors in 2 different sizes – hopefully they still work ok because there is nothing worse than saggy tights! And I bought the purple leather boots in Switzerland last February.

They are slightly beaten up because, despite weather-/water-proofing them, it seemingly always rains whenever I wear them. Frustrating! (ETA: just my luck – it is now snowing! Good thing I brought another pair of boots to change into for this very possibility.) But last night I went at them with Meltonian Nu-Life Color Spray in Purple 613, which I was afraid might not match, but how many options do you have with purple? I need to do another coat – still a bit uneven, clearly – but this is a vast improvement. Thanks, Nu-Life!

The earrings are another one of the gems from American Eagle right now, and the T&Co. necklace is (presumably) a Tiffany knockoff that my mom gave me:

I don’t care that it’s a knockoff or that a few of my friends think it says TACO – because… well, I would wear a heart pendant that says TACO around my neck, such is my love of those hand-held Mexican treasures, so that’s not a ludicrous assumption to make – I still like it. I think it’s classic and pretty.

Also sporting the green eyeliner I like so much:

WHOA, lookout! I’m watchin’ you!! In Rimmel London Special Eyes Precision Eye Liner Pencil in Ivy.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

what the wat? all tied up

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    LOL Taco. I never would have thought that but I think it makes the pendant way, way better.

    Also, you know how much I LOVE color. That outfit is fantastic.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

      Personally, I think it must mean that they are just as obsessed with tacos as me, if not MORE so! You see what you wanna see, RIGHT?? :)

      And gracias, Boov!!

      Damn, now I really want tacos. Are we allowed to eat tacos without William??? I would kill for Taco John’s right now.

      Reply
  • 3. William  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Lol, you can eat colorful tacos without me.

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    I love those earrings, still. I might have to go back and get those too… I get so many compliments on the ones I got that day!

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:23 pm

      They’re not on the website, so you might have to shop around. They are running out of the good stuff, last time I was in with my mom, who coveted my stuff and had to have her own!

      I get tons of comments on my disco ball. :)

      Reply
  • 6. Gibby  |  December 30, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I’ve really wanted to try the Simply Vera tights, but have been wary of not getting good quality for the price. Let me know how those hold up!

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  December 30, 2009 at 9:22 pm

      omg, I cannot rave enough right now about how good they feel. I did notice a small snag today, but I think that is more my own fault of hastily changing into my zip-up boots today at my office – I must’ve just zipped too quickly and nipped them a tiny bit.

      All that said, I probably still wouldn’t pay full price for these, BUT they’re on sale right now for almost half their usual price, and I definitely think they’re worth it.

      Reply
  • 8. Neely  |  January 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    I will pry those boots off of your cold dead feet…and then cry because they won’t fit me

    Reply
    • 9. Cara  |  January 2, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      LOL Neely… I mean… they might fit! I’m a size 9! But you’re a lil thang, prob like a size 7 or so… but that’s what shoe liners are for. You could totally make it work, Tim Gunn-style!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

