all tied up

December 30, 2009 at 8:44 pm 4 comments

really?, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Um… is this a thing now? ROPE toggles as some hot new trend? Did cat-throwing Kenley “My dad was a tugboat captain” Collins have a hand in this?

I just… I don’t even. (This cell phone pic doesn’t do them justice – that was some serious rope. And yep, I’m creepin’ on the CTA again – Red Line riders, look out!)

I suppose it adds texture, but it’s kind of ugly & impractical, don’t you think? I feel like that would hurt your fingers.

What do you guys think of this?

ETA: My friend Ben just schooled me via Facebook – apparently this is called a duffle coat and is very Ivy League. Guess I went to the wrong Cornell! I’ve seen coats in this style before, of course, but I’d never seen them with rope toggles. It was a very jarring sight on the CTA, ok?? And he was with some girl, and I’m pretty sure he simply needed to be debated on the internet. :)

Entry filed under: I Spy, Trends. Tags: , .

grape escape fft-ffft!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan  |  December 30, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Yeah – not a fan. I’ve seen them done on some coats where they are the same color and it’s not nearly as bad, but those actually look like clothespins on a clothesline.

    PS – thanks for reminding me of Kenley. She was such a b*7ch! I did like some of her designs though…

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm

      You nailed it – that’s exactly it. This rope just looked so frayed and course. Ick, I don’t want to have to touch something like that every time I put on and take off my coat. Nor do I want to look at it really.

      Bahaha, Kenley, oh Kenley… little Miss Eyeroller. You do not diss Tim Gunn like that, honey!

      Reply
  • 3. Jordan R  |  December 31, 2009 at 8:48 am

    As others have pointed out, it’s a duffel coat, and they were pretty popular in the ’50s and ’60s. I guess they’re coming back.

    I think they can look good in the right context (funny that you and Put This On both posted something about this on the same day). They can also look prettygoofy.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  December 31, 2009 at 9:12 am

      LOL @ the dog. Oh my.

      And that is funny we both mentioned it – that looks like a fancy-cool blog. But whoever runs it was dead-on when they asked, “Don’t the Street Etiquette guys look flyer than the rest of ‘em in their duffle coats?” Um yes, yes they most definitely do! I much prefer the look of the leather toggles to the rope toggles, à la Street Etiquette guy #1.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

