pencil skirt chic

December 29, 2009 at 1:31 am 9 comments

grey ruffled sweater & pencil skirt, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Every woman should own a pencil skirt, but it’s not always easy to find the right one.

I happened to find this high-waisted one at New York & Company – in their fancier Red Label collection – and fell in love with it.

When something fits well, it can affect your mood and posture and how you carry yourself – all for the better. And this skirt/ensemble totally does for me.

Unfortunately the synthetic belt the skirt came with is already breaking, so I am now constantly checking the belt section in every store in search of the thinnest black leather belt imaginable to fit into the tiny belt loops. I have yet to find one.

With another one of the great cardigans Express has right now, the basically monochromatic look of black and grey is a departure for me and my usual bright hues and pops of color, but it’s sooo chic. My friend Jess said it’d look even better with pumps, but since I’m car-less here in Chicago – and it’s December – I went with tights & my new black leather Bandolino boots (which were the perfect genuine leather replacement for my old faux leather Naturalizers that have begun to show serious wear).

Underneath the ruffled cardigan is a Gap Favorite V-neck T, which is indeed true to its name! They do run a little large (I got a Small, and I’m usually a Medium), but they fit & stretch wonderfully. A steal at $10 right now – grab one if you like.

I wear this to work and also wore it out to a showing of “The Nutcracker” ballet put on by the Joffrey. My friend Leah & I had box seats, and it was just the thing to put us in the holiday spirit!

Entry filed under: Sales, Recs & Likes, Wardrobe Essentials, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

cutest, most festive pjs ever – Y/N? leopard print knit dress

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan  |  December 29, 2009 at 1:48 am

    Not sure how much it would cost, or how much you want to spend on the belt but there is a leather shop that could probably fix/replace it on Broadway south of Belmont by the Lakeview Theatre. Might be worth checking out!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 8:56 am

      ugh, that’s the thing, for a small piece of leather, belts are so EXPENSIVE! This crap one it came with isn’t worth fixing, but maybe I’ll check out what they have – thanks!

      Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  December 29, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I aspire to be able to rock a pencil skirt.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 8:57 am

      A noble aspiration! YOU WILL!

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  December 29, 2009 at 9:22 am

    I went years without even trying pencil skirts because I thought it would make me (at 5’2″ and curvy) look short & fat. I was wrong! It accentuates my curves, and all I needed was a good pair of heels to keep me from looking short. (I also made sure to not get a super-long skirt — it falls just below my knees.)

    Also, I love the cardigan! :) Great blog in general…

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 9:28 am

      I think a lot of people feel that way or are simply afraid to try things on (and a LOT are afraid to go up a size or break out of their comfort zone), when really, you never know until you try and eventually find the proper fit. Pics?? ;)

      Thanks for the feedback!

      Reply
      • 7. Jenny  |  December 29, 2009 at 11:33 am

        Yeah! I’ll take one soon and send it. :)

  • 8. phoenixoftexas  |  December 29, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I like this. Very nice.

    Reply
    • 9. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 3:16 pm

      Why thank you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

