leopard print knit dress

December 29, 2009 at 1:32 am Leave a comment

Christmas can always be tricky with gifts, especially when they’re clothes. This year, though, I got a sweater from my grandma that I actually really liked – teal scoop neck, with a cute belt. The bad news: when I tried it on, the belt hit me in the exact wrong spot, so I knew I’d have to exchange it. The good news: I got THREE dresses in exchange from Kohl’s at 90% off (and just a few bucks more than the sweater originally cost). SCORE!!!

One of them was this leopard print knit dress by AB Studio (size M):

leopard print knit dress, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Cost: $11 – and that was the most expensive of the 3!

All day I felt so Joan Holloway (she will always be Holloway, never Harris!) from Mad Men – and the sad part? My office was practically a graveyard! Don’t you hate it when you look/feel good, and no one is around to see it?! (Or maybe that’s just me.)

Since it’s December and COLD – both outside and in my office – I threw on my go-to black, rhinestone-zippered cardigan (that I’ve had since HIGH SCHOOL!):

I maybe could’ve used a necklace/pendant, but I thought that plus the print might be a little too much. Maybe next time I’ll try it. And of course I added a belt to cinch at the waist – without one, this just kinda hangs:

While my fave earrings added a little color:

Here’s a closer shot of my new leather Bandolino boots – I love the simple detail:

And these met every criteria I was looking for in a boot: rounded toe (makes your foot look smaller; too many boots do the opposite), a low heel (I do a ton of walking, so this is a huge priority), a side zipper (none of that pull-on nonsense), and a single embellishment in the form of a buckle (still simple and versatile yet just enough to be eye-catching while preventing them from being too plain).

Oh hey, did you notice the pockets?? (I didn’t originally!)

Totally and utterly impractical, especially since this is a knit, but it’s a cute detail. Oh, and the nails are OPI Brand New Skates.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

pencil skirt chic ultimate cozy hoodie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

