a trio of textures

December 29, 2009 at 7:11 pm 1 comment

a trio of textures, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Threw this outfit together this morning kind of randomly. I’ve worn the top and jacket together before, but I added these new patent boots I got for Christmas to the mix and realized I had quite the trio of textures, which I very much enjoy.

Here we’ve got the crisp lightness of sequins, the soft weight of corduroy, and the shiny bumps of faux croc. I don’t know that I’m a huge risk-taker with mixing straight-up patterns, but I definitely think combining textures like these makes for a much more interesting look, don’t you?

Jacket: Ann Taylor Loft // Jeans: American Eagle // Tank: H&M

Better shot of shiny-swirly (not to be confused with Swarley) tank, which I got in a Small. H&M’s crazy Euro sizes are so weird and random, always. I am rarely a small – and I’ll admit, it does fit maybe a little too tight/stretched at the top of the bust – but, since length is frustrating for my figure lately, I got this size so that it wasn’t terribly long and tunic-y. (Can THAT trend be over yet? Please?)

Cheapo faux croc patent leather boots by Dollhouse. I usually wear a size 9, which fit my foot well, but I got a 10 to be able to better tuck jeans into them. After wearing them all day, however, I’m realizing they are definitely rubbing my heels quite a bit, so I’m going to have to maybe try a pair of heel liners or two & see if that helps. Still a pretty good deal, though.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

ultimate cozy hoodie what the wat?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  December 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Love the sequined top and the boots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

