pinwheel highlights?

December 28, 2009 at 9:24 pm 3 comments

Last time I got my hair cut & colored (in October), I decided to take a risk and get it done at the Aveda Institute. I don’t know if you’ve heard, but WE’RE IN A RECESSION and TIMES ARE TIGHT, so I thought it couldn’t hurt to save a few pennies…

pinwheel highlights, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

Mmmaybe I was wrong.

I wanted highlights and lowlights, and since I’m usually semi-adventurous with my hair, I said ok when the teacher and student suggested “pinwheel” highlights. They’re not so bad really, but if I don’t part it very specifically, it looks like this:

AAH! I’m CRUELLA DE VIL!!!

Thankfully, it looks fine when it’s styled, though:

A bit frustrating and scary (tears may have been shed when the cut was looking wrong…), but overall probably worth the super mondo discount.

Don’t you love walking down the street after leaving the salon?

PS: Those are some of my favorite shades (from Target). Very Jackie O/Chanel, don’t you think? My friend Jess was not a fan, but they actually fit my nose without sliding down/me having to push them up constantly – PRAISE BE! – so I got them. 8)

I rocked them quite thoroughly in AZ this September:

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: , , .

baby, it’s cold outside (and inside) brown striped sweater dress & boots

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan  |  December 29, 2009 at 1:40 am

    You and I are the masters of recession-ignorant behavior. Tis okay my dear friend, the ‘do was well worth it!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 9:32 am

      Rofl @ “masters of recession-ignorant behavior” – I’m putting that on my business card.

      Reply
      • 3. Jordan  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:12 pm

        A suitable title for a well-suited gal!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

