nails, nails, nails

December 28, 2009 at 8:15 pm Leave a comment

gradient nails, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

A few years ago I became semi-obsessed with painting my nails. I never used to, and then suddenly I was doing it all the time, wondering why I never did before because it’s really not that much work – even with a base coat and top coat (which are essential, I’ve learned).

Except when you try to do the look above.

When I saw this featured on All Lacquered Up, however, I loved the look and had to try it. This is the second attempt – the first was  a bit too messy – but it was totally worth the effort of hand-mixing polish together, don’t you think? So fun. Click the link for a how-to tutorial if you want to try, too (and don’t forget to take pics – I’d love to see others’ results).

Another polish I was immensely pleased with was Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in Jumpin’ Jade:
I usually don’t like Sally Hansen actually, but this polish truly is one-coat ready. The brush is wider, and the texture is shiny and pretty. I especially love this deep green, which is almost slightly teal-y in person.
For the holidays, I’ve been wearing OPI’s Smitten with Mittens a lot:
It’s a really shiny-sparkly red, perfect for Christmas. Hence holiday collection, I guess… :)
Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: , , , , , , .

rainy day trench python trench & grey boots

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

