rainy day trench

December 22, 2009 at 5:57 am 5 comments


rainy day trench, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

This is kind of my badass, I-can-take-on-a-rainy-day-in-the-Windy-City ensemble for the dreary doldrums of October. Kind of makes me feel like I can kick ass, kind of makes me strut.

This navy sateen trench by George (from… *gulp* Walmart!) has elicited so many compliments, and I think it’s easy to see why. I love the look of it. The coat also came in gold, but I am a serious fan of navy as a neutral and as an alternative to black. There is at least some kick to it, y’know?  A little punch. Especially in a trench that has some sheen to it. Also don’t forget to belt it at the waist (or simply tie it, as I’ve done – cuz I’m lazy, er, uh… cuz I’m very busy and important and cannot be bothered with such balderdash as belt loops). You wanna cinch that baby tight to create a great shape.

The burgundy leather boots – for a time proud the proud subject of my “most beautiful thing I have ever owned” decree – are by John Fluevog. I wish you could see the detail here. [Again, apologies. Just trying to get an archive up for when I ‘officially launch’ this blog. Will hopefully have better pictures – and better quality thanks to a new camera – in the coming weeks/months.] The bottom has scalloped black and burgundy stripes on the wedge, and they lace up – with black velvet ties – in the back.

(Oh and by the way, the umbrella is one of the Hayden-Harnett for Target pieces, and it is AMAZING. I may also have a couple of the H-H purses in this same pattern… ahem.)

Under the jacket was this:

This cottony dress by No Boundaries is knit up top with a bit of a cowl-neck sweater look. I also like the little cap sleeves. Paired with tights and a bold pendant (gold chain, green stone – maybe malachite? – from Macy’s). Once again this could be bordering on too short on me, but fer cryin’ out loud, what’s a taller gal to do when everything is cut so short right now? Not all of us are 5’2″! And some of us would like to SIT DOWN when we wear a dress! Citizens for Lowering Hemlines Unite! Who’s with me?

*crickets*

Yeah yeah, that’s what I thought! However I also still like to abide by that old school-days rule of “If you put your hands to your side, and your skirt or shorts is above the tip of your fingers, it’s TOO SHORT.” So by that rule, I’m still totally ok!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

the perfect jacket & a signature necklace nails, nails, nails

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamie  |  December 29, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I don’t think anyone in the world will shout that you should lower your hemlines when you rock that dress so good, bb! <3

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  December 29, 2009 at 9:34 am

      HAH! ty, bb!

      Reply
  • 3. Valarie  |  December 29, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Those boots are almost superhero boots! Love them!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  December 30, 2009 at 12:06 am

      Thanks! I’ve gotta take more pics of them for you. They are truly divine!

      Reply
  • […] cowl-neck knit and cotton dress (first seen here): No Boundaries, orange tights: Simply […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

