summer of weddings

December 21, 2009 at 1:08 am Leave a comment

cousins, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

If you’re in your mid-20s like me, everyone you know is probably getting married or starting to have kids. The summer of 2009 was no exception.

This lovely, summery Nine West floral print dress became my default go-to summer dress for no less than 2 weddings this season (had to switch it up at others, y’know) – first at my cousin Jason’s in June, then at my friends Roxy & Jordan’s (see thumbnail). It fit like a dream.

No, really – like an actual dream. I am in no way a size 6 on the bottom (more like 10-12), but this size 6 fit perfectly because it was snug up top, hugging exactly where we ladies want it to, and floated away from the lower half of the body. I love the bright colors and the bold black edging and stripes. It really creates a fantastic silhouette. Absolutely worth the money and reaffirmed my love of Nine West. Paired with red patent flats from Target (not pictured), I felt good and was sure I’d get to dance with a handsome groomsmen or two… alas!

My friend Elizabeth also got this dress – in the purple & green version – and wore it to several weddings herself this season, including an Indian wedding (with her fiancé at left). How is it fair that dressing up for guys in Indian culture includes such comfy duds & shoes?! (Actually it’s pretty cool, not gonna lie.)

My cousin Uriah (pictured with me at top), an usher at Jason’s wedding, was definitely rocking that pink, don’t you think? Let it be a lesson to you, fellas – men always slay in a suit!

Also, unrelated to anything, isn’t my cousin Isabelle adorable? :)

Entry filed under: Events, What I Wore. Tags: , , , .

glam gals! the perfect jacket & a signature necklace

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

