purple dress & grey boots

December 20, 2009 at 8:27 am Leave a comment

cotton dress & grey boots, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

This is a casual look that I think is really fun. I was kind of averse to these cottony dresses and leggings/tights for a long time; but once I came around to how comfy and effortlessly stylish the whole look feels, I was hooked.

The color of the dress in particular, coupled with the braiding detail at the neck (see photo below), is what I love most about this otherwise simple cotton frock. I also adore grey. I think when it’s paired with a bright or bold color, it makes for a really sophisticated look (grey and yellow is another such sophisticated pairing).

Since I’m pear-shaped, I added this tan jacket for a bit more volume on my upper half (to balance out my lower half), as well as more color, texture, and sheen. Also the fact that it’s cropped helps to add volume up top in the shoulder area while still emphasizing the smallness of my waist. I love the “tulip sleeves” it has.

The patterned tights were beloved until they got a hole in them. No one can see it, thankfully, but I’ve been long searching for a replacement pair. The pattern in them also adds more texture and visual interest, breaking up the solid purple above and the solid-but-matching grey boots below.

Also, did you know… tan and grey are both neutrals, so yes, you can wear them together!

Accessories included a simple multi-chain bangle bracelet from H&M and my go-with-everything faux turquoise drop earrings from Presence boutique on Clark St. in Andersonville. I am a huge fan of having some kind of pop of color, and these earrings – with a smaller chartreuse ball atop larger, uneven pieces of faux turquoise – really do seem to go with everything. They’re my default almost always, as you’ll surely see. :)

Dress: Four Stars (size L) & tights: TJ Maxx (I think) // Jacket & synthetic boots: Target

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

here’s looking at… ruffles! glam gals!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

