here’s looking at… ruffles!

December 20, 2009 at 2:51 am Leave a comment

black ruffle dress, originally uploaded by hereslookingatshoeskid.

I love this look even if maybe I shouldn’t.

I originally got this dress for a friend’s wedding. Debating whether or not it was too short for my 5’8″ frame, I decided some black tights would do the trick & make it decent/wedding-appropriate. I also threw on a thin, shiny, patent leather black belt to really cinch my waist (even more necessary when the sweater is removed; otherwise I look a bit more boxy, which is never good for anyone).

You can’t tell here exactly, but the sweater is a bit of a sage green, which certainly doesn’t match the mustard shoes, but I still think it all goes. (A very important distinction everyone should be familiar with, thanks to “What Not to Wear”!)

The shoes I love. While I’m not generally a fan of Mary Janes or other strappy shoes (because they cut off the leg line, thus making you look shorter), I could not pass up these mustard MJs from Target. Plus the ruffles on the toe of the shoe echo the ruffles on the dress (also from Target), which is just one of those little things that I notice and adore, even if no one else does. Plus – adorable bow!

The sweater (from New York & Company) has really cute charcoal/gunmetal-colored rhinestone buttons. Sorry I don’t have any more closeups for ya – just trying to get an archive up here! :)

This now becomes a great outfit for work and easily fits the day-to-evening ideal of being able to seamlessly transition from work wear to evening wear by simply removing the sweater (the dress is sleeveless) and throwing on a few more baubles, whether via jewelry or hairdo. Easy as pie.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Welcome! purple dress & grey boots

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

