green gladiator girl

May 27, 2010 at 6:02 pm 4 comments

Hello there! In the days since my last post, I have been mourning LOST, of course – but the blow was cushioned tremendously when I found out I WON the LOST Complete Series set from WeLoveLost.com! Gaaah, I’m so happy! I’ve also been busy and thus crazy-tired – to the point that I went to sleep at 8:00 pm last night! (It was still light out!) And yet, even with 11 hours of sleep, I felt like crap (twitchy eye ALL day) and look tiiired today. Blah!

At least I was bright & cheery-looking:

You’ve seen this dress before, and I didn’t do much with it today (that’s another reason I haven’t posted much this week – wearing a lot of simple dresses that I’ve blogged before), but the accessories are still fun. Also: wow, you can totally see the difference in pics I take before I leave for the day and those I take after I come home from a day at work. (Sssh, pretend it’s awesome!)

Green dress: Anthropologie. (Lots – I totally wrote Lost at first there; hello one-track mind! – of reasons why I love it in the aforementioned post where this dress first appeared.)

Mostly I wanted to post today because of my shoes:

Yes. They are gladiators. Yes, they are one of the original trendy pairs from a few summers back. Yes, they are Steve Maddens (actually Steven by Steve Madden – the better-quality brand). And yes, I love them.

These are actually falling apart to the max – you can see the strap coming apart on my left foot (I have super-glued them all over). But they are so comfortable (really cushioned sole, unlike a LOT of flat sandals) and broken in, and nothing else compares for me. The style name is Banglez, and they are available for pre-order here. But I’m gonna tell you, I’m not sure those are the same shoe. As I said, these have been falling apart, and I love them so much that I actually ordered a new pair last year. Either they changed the quality of the next “batch” of Stevens, or they were a lower-quality regular Steve Madden brand pair, but they were really horrible, cheap quality and not nearly as nice. I sent them back. BUT! Those pre-orders could be the same. I tend to think SM had a cheaper, regular, non-Steven version, and that’s what I ordered. But they were crap. Just sayin’. These are not. Love. /rambling

And here’s that new Fossil necklace of mine in action:

I normally don’t wear a necklace with this – at least not a long one – so as not to conflict with the beautiful braided neckline and cutouts of the dress, but I thought this was fun and colorful and summery. Feather earrings: Target, sequined/jeweled headband: I think Old Navy.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

the mourning after “the end” marooned

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenontheroad  |  May 27, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    I LOVE the shoes. I’m tempted to pre-order a pair (because if they suck I can send them back), BUT I’ve never spent more than $25 on a pair of sandals.

    They’re amazing, though. I’ll let you know when I’ve finished vacillating & make up my damn mind.

    Also, HUSH your mouth, you look super cute, and not tired at all!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm

      Thanks! When I saw them in person, I was ENRAPTURED. They were so beautiful and sparkly. I went home and promptly ordered them (they didn’t have my size in store). And they cost even more when I ordered them ($100+), so that’s the other thing that makes me think these new ones are lesser materials or some such? Not sure. Def let me know if you get them!

      And haha, thanks, I wonder if I just thought I looked more tired in person because I’ve been doing the Richard-esque black liner all week and switched back to regular today. ;)

      Reply
  • 3. Kat  |  June 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Yeah I should have posted my shoe love on THIS entry. (I still love your shoes.)

    Reply
  • 4. Per aspera ad astra » So Shoe Me  |  July 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    [...] (in keeping with the shoe theme) a pair of gladiator sandals. I’d been inspired by the pair Cara blogged about and got a fairly similar pair. Success all around- thanks Barb & Don! Posted by amanda.ross | [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 151,538 hits since 12/29/2009

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

